We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, pleasant stay, I will return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Member Savings
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Zachary, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, pleasant stay, I will return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The facility was clean, neat, organized, and w/ great rooms. Really clean, well appointed, w/ great beds. I used the eliptical and TV just fine. The breakfast was surprising in the offerings. The staff were excellent. I was there for a few days for a conference and they were informative, friendly yet professional, and helpful with general questions about the area. A '10' from me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Hampton is tucked right in between the highway and some businesses. It's a little tricky to get to, but once there, it's a cut above the usual Hamptonality. Everybody, and I mean everybody is friendly right down to the guy who empties the trash. The place is clean and the decor is usual, but I really appreciated the little extras in the breakfast department, like sausage slices with maple syrup alongside the omelette ( you know, the ones they just heat up).
As far as being noisy, highways will do that and since we carry a white noise machine with us for other reasons, it didn't bother us, but I did feel sorry for the unfortunate woman in the room next to us who had a barking cough. I'm sure we had a better stay than she did!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romney, West Virginia, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After traveling for approximately 15 years for my job, and now retired, it is truly a pleasure to stay at the downtown Charleston, WV Hampton. You are treated as family and all your needs are met until you check out. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is great. The staff was friendly staff. The room was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was decent. Unfortunately, it is RIGHT next to a busy interstate. There was traffic noise all night. Will try another location next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I read the previous reviews to decide to stay here. Good choice. Everything was great. Rooms clean, breakfast was great and free parking and internet. Staff was great and prices reasonable. I did not go to the pool but it looked ok. I will stay here again if I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30963Alaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I and our two daughters stayed here one night on March 30,2013 and it was very nice and clean. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The pool is very small but good for the kids to burn some energy off. It's very close to the freeway although I had no complaints about the noise as I requested a quiet room from reading the trip advisor reviews before booking. The continental breakfast was nice and the popcorn in the lobby was a hit with the girls. The clientele was very nice and friendly also. I would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loriemcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn Dow... C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very glad that you chose to stay with us on your way through Charleston. We do look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stay here for my son's wedding. The staff are so helpful and had are rooms ready so we could get dress for the wedding on time, after driving 6 hours. We arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm and wedding was at 4:00. I would stay again at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank AudLon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott Town Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing