We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son's Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Member Savings
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Son's Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stay here for my son's wedding. The staff are so helpful and had are rooms ready so we could get dress for the wedding on time, after driving 6 hours. We arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm and wedding was at 4:00. I would stay again at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    94
    43
    20
    7
See reviews for
82
68
26
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ijamsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I was on a business trip and really enjoyed my stay. The property was clean and the people that work there are great. The only negative comment would be the gym only had an elliptical and a treadmill, but nothing more. I was surprised at how quiet the rooms were given the property is next to the freeway and I didn't have any wifi issues that others have described. I travel monthly and am picky about where I stay; I'd definitely go back if back in the area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed at Hampton Inns many times over the years, both on business and pleasure trips. I don't often review them because they all tend to be the same. This one isn't. Because this was a Hampton I made a mistake and assumed it would be like any other Hampton and didn't research the hotel on TripAdvisor.

I'll start with the good points. The room is typical for a Hampton Inn. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. There's also a popcorn machine in the lobby which is a nice touch.

Now for the not so good points. As mentioned by others, the Internet is SLOWWWW. I was on a business trip this time and it was difficult to do anything other than basic e-mail. Another annoying feature is the telephone. There's only one in the room and it's on the nightstand. While the desk is nearby, the cord on the phone wasn't long enough to reach the desk. Also as mentioned by someone else, the hotel is right next to an expressway and the noise is noticeable. Fortunately I kept the fan on the heating unit going which masked the sound of the expressway. The scrambled eggs on the hot portion of the breakfast buffet were the consistency of hard boiled eggs and the size of small marbles. While that was disappointing, there were plenty of other satisfactory choices on the cold portion of the buffet. My room was clean with one exception. When I returned one day from work the room had been cleaned but one of the garbage cans had not been emptied. My (rather ripe) meal from the night before was still there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel and we were not disappointed. The manager, Vicki was very helpful in recommending a restaurant to go to. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The morning breakfast was very good and the staff was excellent. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I admit this review may not be relevant to a lot of people, but it will be for some. Granted the hotel is well located and the staff did try to be helpful. But if you are sensitive to sound, do not stay here. it is right near an exit to the freeway and the traffic noise is constant and unnerving. We both had a lot of trouble sleeping, and it was unpleasant just trying to relax in our room. In addition, the rooms seemed old and outdated. We had planned to stay for two nights but left after the first - the Hampton Inn at Southridge was not only quieter but more modern and with better service.

Room Tip: Not on the Virginia Avenue side - the other side is still loud but less so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Attending the West Virginia Girls State High School Basketball Tournament. I found this hotel very convenient. It was a short walk across the street to the Civic Center. Rooms were Exceptionally clean. Staff was very helpful and answered all questions I had. Breakfast was excellent Enjoyed the stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

As a weekly traveler for work, I have certain expectations. The major areas of concern for this property is its poor conectivity for the wifi. It was so slow I ended up using my own hot spot box to be able to complete work reports. The second issue was when I checked in there was a large group of teenagers checking in as well. For some ridiculous reason the management decided to place them on the top floor. I had to call atleast once a day to complain about the noise and the random knocking on my door. The management never reached out to apologize or provide any compensation. I personally would never stay here again because of managements disregard for Diamond members.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.