We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Loved staying here. The room was clean, quiet, and roomy. The downtown location was within walking distance to lots of places to shop and dine. A free shuttle to the downtown mall was offered, but I chose to walk the two or so blocks and had no problems. The clerks were friendly and helpful. I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    78
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
66
50
23
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are a family of five, including three kids ages 6 to 14. We stayed here for one night in January on a last minute trip.

The trip was arranged the day before, due to a turn for the worse in the health a relative who had become ill while visiting Charleston.

I made a reservation by phone on a Friday, for a Saturday night stay. I usually make rservations on-line, but did this on the phone due to the short time frame, right after finding that the hotel where another relative was planning to stay was sold out.

I reserved the room type I've gotten the last few times we stayed at Hampton: a king room with opening sofa, fridge, and roll-away. After driving 475 miles and visiting a relative in failing health, we arrived at the hotel around 9:30pm and were given a room with no fridge and no roll-away. Correcting the room type took longer than it seems it should have, but we did get the correct room type after that the roll-away was delivered promptly.

The location is very convenient, just off the highway. The room was clean, and up to Hampton standards.

The common areas were not as clean as we would have expected, and both men's rooms on the main floor were out of soap at one point. The breakfast was not typical for Hampton: the scrambled eggs were not refilled for about 15 minutes after they were empty, and then the ones that appeared were not very good. The breakfast area had less than 10 people in it at the time, around 7:30-8am on Sunday.

The front desk staff was friendly.

Overall, it was OK, and we might stay there if in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having stayed at the other Hampton Inn, this is simply the better of the 2. the location is only a short walk to the city mall and then on 2 more blocks to were all the restaurants and bars are.
my room was large enough and had all the ususal trimmings. Breakfast was varied and very nice.
I will be certain to stop at this one on my nest trip through Charleston

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Hampton Inn was very Clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast had a larger variety than I expected.
Only problem was noise from Interstate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel staff were all friendly - free popcorn in the lobby, good breakfast set up that was well attended by the staff. The room itself was ok - toilet paper holder fell off the cabinet (same thing happened at a Hampton Inn in Dayton). Request a room on the side opposite the highway as there is significant road noise. The staff was very helpful to make that work for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Traveling from Colorado to Virginia, and this was our 2nd stop during the road trip. Nice hotel that is located right off I-64 in downtown Charleston with a variety of restaurants close by. Got a room with two double beds, but nothing special; however, the room was nice and clean. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean as well. The continental breakfast was limited, but enough to get your morning started on the right foot. The only downside to this hotel is the location, which is right next to the busy interstate/highway. Unfortunately, our room was facing the interstate, which was noisy throughout the night and getting a quiet and restful sleep was not possible. Finally, although my interaction with the staff was limited, they were nice and friendly.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room on the opposite side of the interstate, and hopefully, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We used HiltonHonors points to stay here one night on our way home. As with the rest of our trip, this hotel was full. The check-in was easy. The deck clerk, Sonia, was very busy. She was very quick and friendly while taking care of several check-ins at once. She even gave each party a map so we could chose a place to eat dinner. She did a great job dealing with a very busy evening. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. This is a older, but renovated property. The rooms are slightly smaller than newer Hamptons. We had two double beds. The room temp was nice. The bathroom was smaller, as well, but fine to suit our needs. Breakfast was the standard Hampton breakfast. Although the hotel was full, there was plenty of food and seating. One added bonus to this Hamptonis parking is free. Most downtown locations, including Hamptons, charge for parking or have valet only parking. I was pleasantly surprised by this. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.