We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, will make reservations for next year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great location, will make reservations for next year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

As always, Hampton Inn's are a great place to stay with consistently quality beds and clean rooms. The service was great, the free wi-fi was very handy considering I was doing a lot of business related work while I was on my working-vacation. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choices and excellent service. This location is just a block away from the Civic Center and the Town Center Mall and the Boulevard of Kanawha River. This also happened to be the Charlie West Blues and BBQ Festival so we could walk to the attractions with no problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
66
51
23
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My colleague and I stayed here not knowing what to expect. We were delighted about our decision to stay at the Hampton Inn Charleston. The staff was wonderful. Deborah at the front desk was lovely. Roy, the shuttle driver, was the nicest and most accommodating. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was wonderful, not your standard continental breakfast by any means. It was a true southern experience. If I return to the city, I'm staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

As always, the Hampton Inn provides fresh clean linens for each guest (yes, they wash the duvet!), along with hot breakfast every morning. The bed was comfortable, flat screen TV, impeccably clean bathroom. Coffemaker, iron, and toiletries available in room. USA today at your threshold. I always try to stay at this chain wherever I go- not because it's glitzy, but because it's reasonably priced, clean, and you ALWAYS know what you're going to get. What I want to highlight about this trip: the hotel is located near a bridge/freeway, which does create some noise. As a light sleeper, my first night here was a little difficult. I politely asked (knowing they were fully booked for a conference), if they had any chance to move me, could I get a room away from the freeway. Without hesitation, they accomodated me to the best of their ability, apologized for the inconvenience (which wasn't needed- it's not their fault), and offered to move my belongings for me. This customer service is why I will return year after year.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel toward the river. Pool was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I came to the Hampton Inn because of my friends wedding and it just happened to be where everyone else was staying. I was hesitant about what I was going to find after reading some of the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival and check-in, the manager was there and helped me check in. After finding out that I had a large load to carry in (I was making the wedding cake and needed to bring a lot of stuff with me for finishing touches the next day), she quickly allowed me to change my room to the first floor right near an exit door. The room itself was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom stocked with everything we needed. There was adequate space for me to store all of the cake supplies without taking up the entire room. The pull out desk was a great help and allowed me space to work on some finishing touches and do some work.

Throughout our stay we took advantage of the free breakfast provided in the lobby (which was nicely decorated and clean). The breakfasts were great and the staff was very helpful and quick to replenish food as needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with king bed. It also had a mini refrigerator and microwave which was a very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This Hampton Inn is a nice place to stay with one unfortunate exception: its location. The hotel is situated right next to a major highway. I felt tensed up from the constant whoosh of the passing cars and trucks. If highway noise doesn't bother you, then this hotel is nice enough. It has a friendly staff and the rooms are pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandafsmithson
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

I stay at Hamptons a lot when I travel and this one is just what you would expect. Good staff good rooms good lobby. Not the Ritz, of course. location is a little tough to get to (between interstate and river with one way streets) but it is close enough to the water to make for good morning runs.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is recently renovated and shows what sparkle an older property can acquire with the right touch. It is convenient to a downtown shopping mall (with food options) and convenient to the I-64 freeway. The high speed internet works well and the breakfast was attractive. We spent a night here as a stopover on a long road trip and found it to be one of the most pleasant hotels, although the room was a bit small. One suggestion for any one planning to stay in Charleston--get good directions for the freeway exits, since the ramps are confusing and hotels are not always visible. We picked out the Hampton after two other interchanges proved fruitless, and we literally stumbled upon it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown

Address: 1 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302-2357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere six blocks from downtown Charleston, The Hampton Inn Charleston-Downtown is a perfect stop for both business and leisure travelers. Located in the heart of the city, find shops, restaurants, parks and more within walking distance of the hotel. Easily accessible from I-64, I-77, and I-79, and with free weekday shuttle service from Yeager Airport, getting here couldn’t be easier. Enjoy a free hot breakfast, free internet service, pool, fitness center and a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.