We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Hotel Circle, Charleston, WV 25311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We enjoyed staying at this hotel very much. It was very clean and quiet. It is close to Charleston (about a 5 minute drive) but is very secluded. The hotel staff were very hospitable, kind and helpful. Room was great, large.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
22
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I was travelling with my wife and 5-month old daughter on our first vacation together. We made a reservation for the Residence Inn thinking the baby would be about ready for bed when we got there from our starting point. Plus the in-room kitchen would be handy for washing bottles and getting the next day's bottles ready.

When we arrived, the staff upgraded us from the one-room to a two-bedroom suite. The surprise really helped out as we were able to set the baby up in one room to sleep quietly while we had the living room and second bedroom to relax in. Breakfast the next morning was crowded primarily due to some area Special Olympics teams who were also at the hotel, but getting food and a place to eat wasn't difficult despite the crowd.

The only thing travelers might need to know is that this hotel is tucked in a quiet office park. There are no gas stations or restaurants nearby. You have a good view of downtown Charleston from the hotel, but getting there is a 5-10 minute drive back down the hill.

Overall a nice layover hotel that was clean, accommodating, and ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

A very well equipped hotel with extra large rooms that allow you to be completely self contained if you wish. You quickly got the feeling that the staff would do anything to make your stay more pleasant. On asking where to eat dinner, we were immediately offered a sheet of local restaurants and a sheet of delivery phone numbers along with a helpful commentary by the desk clerk. Rooms are very clean and well designed. If only the mattress hadn't been filled with marshmallows we would rate the experience higher.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Was 'forced' to stay here just before the snowstorm that closed down the highways heading south on the Turnpike. All hotels were booked due to the weather conditions...we did not plan to stop here, but had been forced back after the highway staff at the Turnpike told us it was too dangerous to travel at night. Power outages in the area also forced the opening of a Red Cross shelter for those who could not get a room to stay the night (as opposed to staying in their cars, which happened for many people at this time!!!).

While we did not have a reservation, and all hotels in the area were completely FULL, the staff were nice enough to let us use the lobby PC to search for possible accommodations in nearby (1hr west) Huntington...but by the time we located a hotel in Huntington, the Residence Inn staff scrambled around to find a way to open up a 2 bedroom suite for us (we were two travelling families) and they did not try to overcharge us, in our desperate need for accommodations ($120 for the nite!).

The rooms and beds were about on par with other Residence Inns I'd stayed in recently...not the newest or lushest, but decent. Yes, the beds were not super comfy, and a bit on the sitff/hard side, but we could not complain. The breakfast was pretty good, with scrambled eggs, pork sausages, waffle irons. The internet in the room was via cable connection, and was reliably fast.

Though the hotel is pet-friendly, we did not notice any pet odours in our room. Have to say it was a very well-received stay on our part, and in large part due to the courteous and helpful staff, particularly during this minor-emergency time period.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

The one thing we need to do when we travel is sleep well. It's hard to do here, with worn out mattresses that were cheap to begin with. We used the extra pillows to try and keep from rolling into the middle all night.

We also concur with another review here that their idea of clean doesn't match ours. The living room furniture had obvious uncleaned spills. The carpets were vacuumed in the middle, with visible dust buildup around the furniture and the wall base.

Need to use the bathroom quietly in the middle of the night? Not here, unless you're good at feeling your way in the dark. Turn on the bright light, and the fan kicks on - it sounds like a locomotive.

This is a decent property in a convenient location. Marriot Corporate needs to pay them a visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Hotel grounds were very open with a lot of land area to walk my dog. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Hotel is dog friendly. Room was very clean and very quiet. During the week (check the days with desk) they serve what they call snacks but it was hamburgers, salads, chips, etc and very good and fressh. The morning was breakfast and more than continental - scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potaotoes etc. I definently recommend this hotel for travelers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed at this property during the months of June/July 2009 with colleagues on a fairly lengthy project. The property itself is nice, the rooms are good and the desk staff is very friendly.Their internet service may be free but it has major problems. If the internet provider receives complaints about slow internet service from other guests (because you are streaming videos or music or whatever) they will boot you off and have your access blocked. Two of my colleagues and I discovered this nasty surprise on separate weekends. I complained to the front desk because it does not say anywhere that your internet bandwidth usage is being monitored but it is. When I talked with the ISP they had me promise I would not stream anything else or they would block me for remainder of my stay. The front desk didn't do anything when I complained so I was not happy. Some colleagues also had issues with the cleaning staff not doing a good job but I found my room to be done well every day. This hotel is not near downtown but in a business park near the airport so you will have to drive a bit to find food, stores, gas etc. Overall I liked the property itself but with the issues I encountered it left a bit of a sour taste.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel
Charleston Residence Inn
Address: 200 Hotel Circle, Charleston, WV 25311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.