We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Residence Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charleston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Hotel Circle, Charleston, WV 25311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Typical Residence Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This Residence Inn is just off the interstate, tucked away in a corporate area. We almost thought we were in the wrong location. There are no restaurants or stores close by, which disappointed us at first, but downtown Charleston is only minutes away. Our first impression was not particularly good. As we entered the building there were 2 women (staff) seated on the ground by the entrance, smoking. We had made a reservation weeks before, but there were few rooms left, and none with a view of the beautiful WV mountains. There are no king beds, all single queens. But, our room was clean and seemed to be updated with relatively new furniture and nice linens. We had no issues with our room and spent a very quiet night. Breakfast was great. Besides the usual fare, there were scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, etc. The woman who oversaw the breakfast room was very helpful and kept all items filled and ready for guests. There is a little selection of food items in a pantry for sale which included frozen meals, snacks, drinks and even wine and beer. Overall, a nice experience and staff friendly.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    41
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
26
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

nice people, great breakfast, with a lot of choices, clean..the only ding is the location. its not near much..about 15 mins away from town. I enjoyed the stay, and would return if i passed through. breakfast area was a tad too small.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed one night on the way to North Carolina. Hotel was easy to find, plenty of parking. Very courteous front desk staff. Room was clean and roomy. Quiet and got a good nights rest. Would definately recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our #1 favorite of four Marriott properties we stay at while traveling to Lexington, KY for a family wedding. We had a two-bedroom suite, which was modern, clean and comfortable. Both bathrooms were spotlessly clean, too. The kitchen had a full sized refrigerator, which was ideal. What set this Marriott apart from the others was the staff. As another reviewer said you feel like you are surrounded by good friends. Both Jennifer at reception and Mich in the kitchen made us feel like family; they really cared for us from Jennifer's suggestion for food delivery to Mich getting us each one of his specially prepared breakfast parfaits. Marriott is fortunate to have employees like these two people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed at Residence Inn in Charleston on way to Baltimore. Hotel seemed very busy but front desk was very helpful. There is no place nearby to eat at but they very accommodating with a list of recemmendations, cuisine and distance from hotel.
I had never been "to" Charleston and certainly not downtown but it was a very pleasant visit.
Breakfast selection was good.
The hotel is very convenient to I-64, I-77 and I-79.
Seemed to be newer and more modern than recent Residence Inns I have been to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I traveled there meeting my sister for a "girl" weekend. I had to bring my elderly dogs and this hotel was pet-friendly. I had asked for an early check in, only they didn't really have an appropriate room ready for my pets who have some challenges getting around. I would have had to wait. Since we had had a 4.5 hour drive, they were ready to settle down, so I had to accept the interior room. The one bedroom suite was perfectly appointed, neat and clean, along with the bathroom. Here are my couple of changes:
1. How about an ice cream scoop in the room? You have some utensils as a Residence inn, but how about adding that one.
2. The pet walking area was chock full of the #2 left behind by owners who neglected to clean up after their pet. UGH. As a responsible owner, I was apalled. Residence inn - you can help. How about providing guests with a few bags to clean up after their pet upon check in. Better yet, how about a bag/waste station in that area?
3. Don't hide your area attractions/map station. Was hidden to the entrance to the pool area which we unfortuantely didn't visit (looked inviting though)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Recently while moving a friend I stayed at the Residence Inn. Greg Bolles, has developed a proffesional staff, which exceeds all expectations in cutomer service. From the moment you check in, you are made to feel like you are at home surronded by good friends. In all my years of traveling and staying at various hotels, this was without a doubt the finest experince I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston

Address: 200 Hotel Circle, Charleston, WV 25311
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.