We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, centrally located, friendly staff, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Medina, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, centrally located, friendly staff, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have never stayed in Charleston WV before and were just passing through on the way to Hilton Head, but were delighted with the hotel and the town. The desk staff was friendly and recommended a good Italian restaurant within walking distance. The hotel was very clean and has been recently remodeled. We had to leave by 6:00 a.m. and were disappointed that the continental breakfast did not open until 6:30. However, when my husband went down after 5:00 a.m. for our first cups of coffee (available 24 hours), he found breakfast all set up and waiting. This was one of the best hotel continental breakfasts we've seen; waffles, bisquits and gravy, fresh fruit, breakfast sandwiches to microwave, hard boiled eggs, fruit cups to go, cereal,rolls, bagels, coffee, juices and more. The lady setting everything up could not have been nicer. She gave us baggies for food to go and water for the car. She said even though breakfast officially begins at 6:30, she usually has everything ready around 5:30 for early risers.
We would definitely stay here again and explore Charleston a little more. A great value for the money!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    38
    22
    12
See reviews for
38
36
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed here a couple of nights across the span of a week. First room I was assigned to had a bit of a spider problem. Two were hanging down from webs by window and another by the door...these were live spiders in a room on the 6th floor. Immediately went back to front desk and was reassigned to a room on 8th floor. Stayed in 8th floor rooms both visits. Those rooms were in better condition...generally clean and bed was very comfortable. TV offered good range of channels and internet worked well. Easy access to interstate and downtown Charleston. Across from the Clay Center which houses a children's museum and is also home to the WV Symphony. My office typically selects this Fairfield for staff overnights since it is close to the office. Great rate via last minute booking on hotels dot com. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We had a very nice quiet room that was very large. The room did not have a refrigerator or microwave, but was very resonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rush City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

If you like waiting for elevator stay here otherwise stay away. Property has 3 but only one worked and the staff told us it had been that way for over 3 weeks. Desk had a standard answer they were working on it. Delays in the morning were terrible if you needed the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Needed a place to stay halfway between here and there so this fit the bill. Nice hotel, convenient to getting off the interstate (but not back on). Pool was nice; "fitness center" was marginal. Morning breakfast was good; front desk staff polite. Room was as expected from a Marriott hotel- nice. Complimentary internet worked well but I am learning that mobile phones don't do internet that requires a log-on well. Good stay and will definitely consider for the next trip on the same route.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We spent 4 days in Charleston, WV for a business trip my wife and I. Our stay was very pleasant, the staff was very helpful and breakfast was good. What bothered me was the lack of room service and restaurant, as well as the lack of a minibar in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We've stayed here in the past while on our way to/from Ohio/Florida. While it has been improved, there's still some work to be done. The rooms are nice and big, but the bathroom area is kinda small and the sink is right in with the toilet and shower. The plumbing is not good. The toilet was so loud as the tank refilled, the shower got backed up and the water was a funny color.

All that being said, our AAA rate of $85 was pretty good for a downtown hotel. (It's about a 10-15 min. walk to the mall.) They provided nice bath products (Pantene, Vaseline), plenty of towels (1 of 4 were soft), and the bed was comfortable. Five pillows were provided, all in good shape.

We let the fan run all night and had a very quiet nights sleep. Breakfast was good, not great (we don't do sausage gravy and biscuits), and they provided a Purell dispenser right outside the eating area by the coffee.

We would stay here again, but also made notes to check reviews on the Best Western next door.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.