We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Booked this room for one of my staff members who was in Charleston for a business meeting. He stated that the room was very comfortable, clean, and appeared to have been recently upgraded in terms of bedding/furnishings. He was pleased with the free breakfast and noted the availability of Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits that were quite tasty. Staff he encountered were friendly and helpful. Room rates are reasonable given the level of accomodations and location is convenient. Easy access to I-64/77, downtown offices, and Capital Complex.
Would definitely book here again given this staff person's experience.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    38
    22
    12
See reviews for
38
35
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We chose this location due to it's location, right off the I-64 and close to the Clay Center Museum. We have always stayed at Marriott's; they are our favorite.
No breakfast as advertised unless you like cold hard boiled eggs.
We were moved twice during our stay. Rooms are not clean, bathrooms are worse. Hotel is very run down and needs a major renovation.
Housekeeping folks are nice, but they are expected to clean up rooms that are a disaster.
We will not ever stay here again, we will and have chose the Marriott downtown and the Residence Inn near the airport.

  • Liked — Coffee from the Lobby
  • Disliked — Room/bathroom
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

Quick overnight for my husband's early morning presentation at CAMC. Honestly, I just didn't expect much and was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean. Looked nice. Bedding was nice, pillows were just okay. All down pillows. The down side was a unit ac/heat unit, I kept waking up hot or cold. I went to work the next day very tired as I hadn't slept well at all.

The complimentary breakfast was much nicer than most that I have seen. Complete with Sausage/Egg/Cheese biscuits in a fridge to be warmed up. I just hadn't seen that yet. Waffle maker. Not a bad selection, but I didn't take a closer look than that.

His company paid for the stay, so price didn't really matter. Would I pay $95.00 for it...no. I'd find something without the wall unit.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Wall unit for heating & cooling
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

My family was traveling from Virginia Beach to Indianapolis for the XMAS Holiday. We arrived in Charleston at 1:30 AM and we were greated by the Fairfield's friendly staff- check in was a breeze and all was in order despite our LATE arrival. We had a great continental breakfast in the morning. The rooms and hotel were clean and acccomadating. This hotel is located right off the interstate which makes it very convenient for travelers. I also wanted to say that we got our room for $74.00 a night. Our original quote was $92.00 but after researching the internet I found a rate on ORBITZ for 74.00 a nite. I called the hotel and they gladly matched the rate!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

I checked in super late for a brief one night stay. My flights were all delayed. I was exhuasted. Front desk staff was cheerful and efficient. My room was clean. I got my packages immediately. I woke up early and front desk quickly called me a cab. I had a great night sleep and was able to give my 7am presentation with a smile.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Great for sleeping and working.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
2,024 reviews 2,024 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
821 helpful votes 821 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

We arrived on a rainy afternoon and found the staff most accomodating at the front desk. Our room was on the fifth floor. It was good but not great. This does not appear to be a very new hotel. There are three elevators so getting to a higher floor was never a problem. For some reason Fairfield no longer provides quilts or blankets. There is a small "throw" across the bottom of the bed, however it is only 12 inches wide and is solely for deceration.The breakfast area is very good and breakfast was your typical Fairfield Inn type. Parking was just outside the front door. We found this hotel to be okay---just rememebr it has bene around for a while.

  • Liked — Good downtown location and reasonable price
  • Disliked — No blankets or quilts on bed
  • Tips/Secrets — For activities downtown Charleston this is a very good location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwVa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

The hotel itself is average but functional.
What makes the hotel stand out is the caring, attentive staff. I checked in late one evening, mentioned that I was hungry, and the clerk offered to find some cereal for me.

The room was clean, and the bathroom was very spacious.

The hotel is located near downtown and is also close to the airport (less than a 10-minute drive). There is no airport shuttle, but parking at Yeager airport is only $8.00 for long-term.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.