We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Lanesville, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here kind of by accident. We were surpised how close and easy it was to get to off of the expressway. Everything was very comfortable and taken care of. The decor was a reminder of the 70's and the elevators exctremely small, but other than that, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    38
    22
    12
See reviews for
38
35
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This place was nice enough to stay in. Only stayed one night, stop over on the way to Nashville. Not much to do in this town but plenty of places to eat right around the hotel if you are just using it as a stopover. Rooms were very nice and clean, bed was comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Possibly, the best thing about this hotel is the front desk staff. Upon check in, we inquired about dinner possibilities and were referred to an excellent Italian restaurant in a near by market area. Since we were hungry, we placed our belongings in the room and quickly unpacked, noticing a hospital smell that we chose to ignore because we were hungry. When we returned from dinner the smell was still there; however, we did not ask to change rooms because we had already unpacked. We should have requested a new room. Our problem.
The room smelled all night, and the smell actually seemed to get stronger. Our stay was unpleasant because we did not ask for a new room. However, the hospital/urine smell should have been noticed by the maid service and the room not assigned until it was properly cleaned. Sorry. I usually write positive reviews of places that we have stayed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We chose the Fairfield Inn in Charleston to stay at while my son undergoes some treatment at the CAMC hospital. Currently several renovations are being completed on this hotel that I feel will really make this hotel much nicer. We have not heard any of the construction, which is nice as we are at CAMC all day long and need rest.

Pros:
-Beds are comfortable
-Limited noise from traffic
-Great location in regards to CAMC
-Staff is very nice and helpful
-Breakfast is awesome. Several choices including biscuits and sausage gravy, waffles, and heated sandwiches.

Cons:
-Hotel is still a little disheveled due to construction.
-As far as Marriott's quality, this one does not meet their standards and consistency just yet. Everything looks unfinished currently and a little messy. I'm not sure if the contractors are the same that are doing all of the work, but some of it is not as precise and you can definitely tell that the hotel did not renovate everything as tiles in the restroom look old and dirty.

I will say though that this hotel is a pretty good value for the price and the location. Upon checking in they found out that we were here for treatments for our son and gave us a discounted rate. That was a great surprise and has helped us a lot during our stay. Everyone is extremely hospitable and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Construction at site
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohiohorselover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We decided to stay in Charleston for our return trip from vacation after a not-so-nice experience at a hotel in Beckley, WV. We chose this hotel from the AAA guide book.

The hotel was recently renovated, and I really liked the design of semi-modern greens and blues. The room was clean, and the bed was fantastic. The breakfast was decent: muffins, bagels, make-your-own-waffles, juices, fruit, cereal, etc.

The only downside to the hotel was that we chose it in part because it has a pool. Even at the end of June, the pool was too cold to comfortably swim in. Even my husband - the first one in the pool every season - was soon out of it. We tried the hot tub, and even when we found the switch for it, it did not warm up. The woman at the front desk who helped us locate the switch said if it didn't warm up she would talk to the maintainence man (she said this before we tested the water of the hot tub, making me wonder if that is a common problem for them). The water never got warmer, even after the maintainence guy looked at it. We were in it for a little while, but it was soon too much for my 17-month-old and we went inside for a warm bath.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

We've stayed in some pretty dismal places in Charleston as we go from DC to Missouri. The Fairfield will definitely get out business again. Large, clean room, freshly carpeted and decorated halls, comfortable bed with soft linens. Yes, the AC was a little noisy, but we had no cigarette odor at all. The front desk had remarked that all the rooms had been re-done, and my guess is that took care of any remaining odor. The lobby is being re-floored, but that was no biggie. Breakfast selection was on the large end of average at this price level.

Our only quibble is that the clerk who checked us in on a Sunday night had no idea of where to get anything to eat other than the Denny's-type restaurants. We went hunting and found Sam's Uptown on Capital Street, which looks like a dive, but gave us a nice welcome and served a first-rate hamburger.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

I booked in a nearby hotel for more bucks and less services , so I walked in the others hotels in the area , with friendly clean environment and good price and fast free internet service every thing was great,
It is close to Cinema theater , Kinkos, coffee shops and Arena
Breakfast is ok, but they offer it even if you are late, coffee tea and herbal tea and chocolate are 24 hours in the lobby for free

  • Liked — Price Value
  • Disliked — Non
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.