We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Belton, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Property was nice, people were good, room was average. I would stay there again but if there were other options I would check them out. This is just a average place to stay, nothing bad to say but nothing great stood out either. pretty much middle of the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
29
32
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is definitely worn around the edges, and I would suggest being very aware of your surroundings. It has a great location if you have business at the hospital or the Arts Center. You do not have much choice of restaurants within walking distance and if you are not in a group you probably would not want to walk at night anyway.
The hotel, while worn, is clean and the service at the desk is good. The breakfast area is tiny for a hotel this size. The fitness room is fairly large, but the equipment is older.
My room, on the 7th floor, overlooked the postal facility. This is a main facility and is noisy with trucks and mail carts. It is especially noisy in the early morning (4-5 am). I am an early riser so it did not bother me, but if you want to sleep in get a room on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place has to be a old Marriott hotel that finally wore out and instead of tearing it down, Marriott converted it into a Fairfield Inn. Big mistake. The property is old and worn, the rooms and baths are really small, the décor is dated, and the hallways stink. Can't believe that Marriott would try to pass this place off as a Fairfield as I normally will go out of my way to stay at a Marriott branded motel.
In addition, looking at the neighborhood where this place is located, I would not dare to go outside after dark as it is located in downtown Charleston which is very old and deteriorating with many vacant building and small groups of people standing around on the street corners and alleys.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Charleston WV was a convenient in between spot to meet with some of our family. This hotel was affordable and located in the heart of the city. The facilities are showing a little wear and tear although the hotel was near and tidy. Caring and helpful staff that was always ready to help.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is located in an area of the city that does not appear safe due to several "mission properties" nearby and lots of loiterers. I worried about my car and when I walked to the Soho restaurant my person. The hallways are dark and cold and the general décor is shabby. The rate is high given the poor elevators, poor hallways etc. I will say the room was large and the heat worked. The bath featured a toilet that looked like a prison fixture. I am a Marriott loyalist and I am surprised they would let a property like this carry the name.

Room Tip: None are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
James C, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback. I apologize that you did not feel safe during your walk to SOHOs but can assure you we have never had any security issues at this location. I am glad you enjoyed the size of your room. If you would like to discuss your stay further, I would be happy to talk to you so we can remedy the situation. We do appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand and hope that would you give us a chance to serve you again.

JoshuaG@swhm.com
304.343.4661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fairfield Inn Charleston is centrally located near many restaurants and the Town Center Mall. My room was comfortable and clean though a bit small. There was a very good king size bed. Breakfast was of reasonable quality and had a good variety. One mishap, the room had no bath towels, a bit of a surprise when I took a shower assuming that they would be there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
areview28, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the king size bed. I do apologize that you did not receive bath towels in your room. I have taken this up with our housekeeping manager so she can remedy the situation so that it doesn't happen again. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Charleston, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was not impressed with this hotel. The bathroom sink was pulling away from the counter and black flacks (mold?) was in the sink. The hallways were freezing cold even though it was in the 30s and 40 outside. Don't even get me started on the elevators! Small, creeky and rather swayed from side to side. I used the stairs. The staff was friendly and the lobby ok. Breakfast was also fine. Next time I will use something other than this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
sunfanAnnArbor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. I would like to further discuss this with you so I can have the opportunity to remedy the problem. I look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

304.343.4661
JoshuaG@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.