We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, easy access” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Capitol Hotel to your Saves list
Charleston Capitol Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, easy access”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Charleston WV was a convenient in between spot to meet with some of our family. This hotel was affordable and located in the heart of the city. The facilities are showing a little wear and tear although the hotel was near and tidy. Caring and helpful staff that was always ready to help.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    58
    40
    22
    13
See reviews for
44
37
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is located in an area of the city that does not appear safe due to several "mission properties" nearby and lots of loiterers. I worried about my car and when I walked to the Soho restaurant my person. The hallways are dark and cold and the general décor is shabby. The rate is high given the poor elevators, poor hallways etc. I will say the room was large and the heat worked. The bath featured a toilet that looked like a prison fixture. I am a Marriott loyalist and I am surprised they would let a property like this carry the name.

Room Tip: None are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
James C, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback. I apologize that you did not feel safe during your walk to SOHOs but can assure you we have never had any security issues at this location. I am glad you enjoyed the size of your room. If you would like to discuss your stay further, I would be happy to talk to you so we can remedy the situation. We do appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand and hope that would you give us a chance to serve you again.

JoshuaG@swhm.com
304.343.4661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
704 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fairfield Inn Charleston is centrally located near many restaurants and the Town Center Mall. My room was comfortable and clean though a bit small. There was a very good king size bed. Breakfast was of reasonable quality and had a good variety. One mishap, the room had no bath towels, a bit of a surprise when I took a shower assuming that they would be there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
areview28, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the king size bed. I do apologize that you did not receive bath towels in your room. I have taken this up with our housekeeping manager so she can remedy the situation so that it doesn't happen again. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Charleston, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was not impressed with this hotel. The bathroom sink was pulling away from the counter and black flacks (mold?) was in the sink. The hallways were freezing cold even though it was in the 30s and 40 outside. Don't even get me started on the elevators! Small, creeky and rather swayed from side to side. I used the stairs. The staff was friendly and the lobby ok. Breakfast was also fine. Next time I will use something other than this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
sunfanAnnArbor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. I would like to further discuss this with you so I can have the opportunity to remedy the problem. I look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

304.343.4661
JoshuaG@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were on a road trip and had been driving for more than six hours and needed a place to stay. Charleston seemed like a good stopping point. We did not have reservations so we did not have many choices. The Fairfield offered a good rate and although the reviews were not very good we decided to try it for the one night. The place looked clean but there was a strange smell in the halls and the lobby. Our room was clean and adequate. The staff was excellent and very helpful with dinner recommendations. Breakfast was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
SherandPat, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to offer the friendliest customer service and appreciate your remarks regarding the staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast, as well. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Charleston, WV,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is in fair condition. The area is sub par, and the rent-a-cop does add to the feeling of security. Parking is plentiful, but be prepared to walk a fair distance on a busy night. The woman at the front desk scorned me for ringing the bell when I arrived late prior to check in. I travel very frequently for work, and being treated like a child while checking In is unacceptable. I will not be returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
BigDaddy, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. I apologize for the way you were treated upon your late arrival. I would like to further discuss this with you so I can have the opportunity to remedy the problem. I look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

304.343.4661
JoshuaG@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a good hotel in Charleston and always at a reasonable price. Accommodations are nice. Breakfast is very good. Staff are excellent - friendly, efficient, and professional. Rooms are very comfortable - especially the bedding. It is good for business trips and family trips.

Room Tip: Convenient location to downtown Charleston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Director of Sales at Charleston Capitol Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
KL W, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you during your next trip to Charleston, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 24 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Capitol Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Capitol Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Charleston Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Capitol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.