We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a nights sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Charleston
SAINT PETERSBURG
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine for a nights sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Agree with other reviewers, property is older, tired looking. But room was clean (except for the coffee pot), quiet and the bed was comfortable. The outlets on the desk lamp didn't work at all so not near enough readily accessible plug-ins for all the electronics. There were lots of TV stations to choose from. Staff were polite and helpful, especially at breakfast. Location was convenient to downtown, easy walk to several good restaurants. If you overlook the age of the furniture and finishes, it's not a bad place to get a good nights sleep. The price was very reasonable, especially compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    30
    20
    10
See reviews for
29
32
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Geez, this place was such a disappointment in so many ways. Thank you to the reviewer who posted about the sickening air freshener stench that greets you when you enter the hotel. At least we were prepared for it. Two of the three elevators were working. As other reviewers have pointed out, the hallways are dark and dingy. Our room was on the second floor, overlooking the lobby/entrance roof, and further out to the post office parking lot. Good thing it wasn't an awesome view, because our window was covered in a thick film of dirt and I don't know what that prevented us from seeing out of it.

The beds, pillows, and shower were decent, but there were so many beat up, old, moldy things in the room that it was hard to appreciate the few things that were decent. The nightstand between the beds was broken, the drawer did not even fit into the cabinet properly and sat crooked. The towels were thin, rough and threadbare. My husband called them exfoliating towels. I guess it would've been funny if we hadn't of been miserable.

The final straw was on our first morning, housekeeping came to clean our room before 9am. We weren't ready to leave yet so we told her we would be out of the room shortly. Well, when we got back that evening, it turned out she never returned to service the room. We had no more towels, so we had to go to the front desk and request them the next morning.

On a positive note, the front desk staff were very courteous and helpful.

All in all, it was a ridiculous stay at this hotel. I've stayed at other poor Fairfield properties, but this one takes the cake. If Marriott can't enforce their standard on this chain, then they need to dump the brand. All it's doing is bringing down their reputation. As a loyal Marriott customer, it ticks me off to have this kind of experience in light of Marriott's promise of a standard experience across all properties. If you can't deliver it, don't promise it.

We checked out early, and we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We did a 1 night stop here and are loyal to the Marriott brand. The location of the hotel to the downtown area was a plus. The morning breakfast was nicely done with waffles, eggs, bacon along with fruit, bagels, muffins, yogurt and juice. However, the room is in need of updating and the carpet could have sure used a cleaning judging by how dirty the bottom of my socks were! We found the staff to be very pleasant. Would we stay here again? I doubt we will be passing through this area, but I would need to know whether the rooms have been refurbished.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Don't expect much. The breakfast is fine. The gym and pool are minimal. The elevator didn't work for two days. The halls were dim and the room needed a dehumidifier. We stayed at this hotel because nothing else was available, but since it was a Marriott property, it was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conestoga, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very nice and the beds are super comfortable. Not many Fairfields have an outdoor pool, but this one does! We were pleasantly surprised by how nice a city Charleston was . Very enjoyable stay with a very lovely staff. The staff couldn't do enough for you.

Douglas Young

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are very loyel marriott guests and usually choose this brand of hotel because you know what to expect.

The hotel is VERY accessible if your looking for a brief stop in the middle of your road trip, it is right off the interstate and very accessible to multiple routes. We did arrive around 8pm and it is located in downtown financial district i would guess because it was a ghost town!! there is alot of parking though. We had a strange encounter in the parking lot with a couple looking for a drive to some pharmacy near by which was a bit un-nerving.

The lobby is updated, but the elevators are very old (its almost like this is an old hotel that Marriott has bought and just made the necessary improvements) there was only 1 elevator working. the hallway was dark. The room was old and felt very out dated. They did have the usual marriott beds and they updated the shower and possibly new carpet but that's about it.

the room was just not what we were expecting from previous fairfield inn's. It looked like there was no where to eat in the vicinity so eat before you arrive!! we brought food and heated it up in the microwave.

breakfast was fine, usual options with eggs, sausages and they had biscuits with gravy which looked interesting! They had delicious cookies in the evening.

we were glad we only were staying the 1 short night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Two of the three elavators were out of order. The third was working - but had a four person limit. There were only two of us in it - and it was still making horrible noises. I was fearful enough to not use it again... even though that meant climbing five flights of stairs.

Marriotts are usually upstated and clean. This hotel - while it has the new green carpet - everything else is sorely in need of an update. The shower stalls were old.

The morning breakfast was just disappointing. While the breakfast/lobby area was not any more or less busy than any other Fairfield Inn - this one looked neglected. The egg pan was emply. When the attendant refilled it - the eggs were ice cold. The waffle batter dispenser was empty and there were no yogurts in the frig. The options were limp bacon, toast and hard boiled eggs. Even the coffee thermos were empty.

This was my first horrible experience at a Fairfield. I've written corporate - because any effort to have these problems addressed by the in house staff were met with shrugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happystay82, Front Office Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We here at the Fairfield Inn would like to say we are truly sorry for the issues you had with our hotel. We apologize for not meeting the standard you expect from a hotel of our caliber. We are continuing to work on our facility to make it better every day. The elevator should be fixed on/by 06/29/13 sorry for the inconvenience that it caused you. We will make sure that your next stay with us is a great one. If there is anything else we can do please let us know. Hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1000 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Charleston)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Charleston,WV the Charleston Capitol Hotel offers quality customer service to every guest. Amenities include complimentary hot breakfast, free parking, and complimentary high speed wireless internet, just to name a few. Shopping and dining are just a short walk away as well as the Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences. Whether you're coming to Charleston for a business meeting or just a family getaway, the Charleston Capitol hotel is here to serve your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Fairfield Charleston
Charleston Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.