We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Eggs Benedict, or Crab or Smoked Salmon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Hills Market and Cafe

South Hills Market and Cafe
1010 Bridge Road, Charleston, WV 25314
+1 304-345-2585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 256 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: South Hills Market and Cafe serves lunch, dinner, and tapas at the bar Tuesday - Saturday. Catering available for any occasion. Full bar, craft brews on tap, and a Wine Spectator Award winning wine list.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lovely Eggs Benedict, or Crab or Smoked Salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Was looking for a breakfast place, not brunch, since we had an early hike and headed up Bridge Street and found South Hills Market and Cafe. Plenty of breakfast choices including build your own croissant sandwich, bagels with...whatever and the eggs with smoked salmon. Again choices, fruit or a type of hashed brown potato, but not a hashed brown potato. Even my husband, who does not eat breakfast broke down and has the eggs benedict. Simply yummy, great coffee and a beautiful fruit side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent, extremely fresh and unique salads and sandwich's. All three in our party raved about how great this place is. Love the fact that they have beer, wine and spirits. If you're in Charleston, this is a MUST VISIT.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If your staying downtown, avoid all the chains and head up the hill to this awesome place. Service is great and the food is excellent. They have a wide variety of offerings and everyone in our group loved their meal. Also check it out for lunch or morning coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small place, Great food, EXCELLENT service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Dinner for two. Table was waiting. Great menu with more choices than most places, all gourmet. Great service and the food was excellent. I recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had a delicious take out lunch from here today. There was an omission from our order but our food was so awesome and filling we didn't even notice. However, I received a voicemail from a few hours later from the Cafe apologizing for the error and inquiring what they could do to make it right. So not only am I enamored with their food thus far; now I find their attention to customer service an attractive quality as well. Also they have delicious cookies as big as your face :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Hills Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Hills Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Hills Market and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.