We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware reviews from people who aren't fully aware...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences

Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences
1 Clay Square, Pineville, Charleston, WV 25301
304-561-3570
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 attractions in Charleston
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Opened in the summer of 2003, the Clay Center strives to present a variety of arts and sciences all under one roof. The Avampato Discovery Museum is two floors of fascinating interactive science exhibits, while the ElectricSky™ Theater features planetarium shows. In addition there are a large performance hall and a small black-box theater, an art museum, a fun museum shop, and a cafe. There's something interesting scheduled virtually every night here!
Glenville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beware reviews from people who aren't fully aware...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

There is a kids section to the museum. A large kids section....downstairs. However, the upstairs of the museum hosts various art displays, historical displays, etc. It is a wonderful place. The auditorium hosts various performing troupes, and is a great place to get you "culture fix." True, it is smaller than venues in larger cities, but you have to keep in mind the size of Charleston as a city. It is nicely proportioned to the population density of the town...as well to the number of people in the area who appreciate the arts. I recommend place this to anyone. My wife and I enjoyed a production of Les Miserables by the Charleston Light Opera Guild this past weekend. Aside from some minor issues with the sound system, the performance was excellent. The talent was comparable to some of the finest performances I have seen.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

They have a lot to do and what were pleasantly surprised to find such a nice museum in a road trip. The downstairs activity center was great and it was helpful to have the Rube Goldberg sculpture piece in the cafeteria to keep the kids busy while we ate. The food was good are freshly prepared by the Embassy Suites staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Small in size but just right for concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm used to attending performances at Pittsburgh Benedum Center and WVU's Lyle B. Clay theater which seem to hold a few thousand people. I wasn't prepared for the more intimate concert theater at the Clay Center where I attended a performance by Diana Ross. I had a choice of seeing her at the cavernous Benedum Center or the Clay Center. I choose the Clay Center because it was a two hour drive from my home town compared to three to Pittsburgh. Unlike the Benedum Center which has one long balcony which stretches upward towards the roof of the auditorium and is divided into a Director's Circle, First Balcony and Second Balcony, the Clay Center has two distinct balconies, one directly above the other. I was as close in the first row of the second balcony as anyone in the first row of the first balcony. With the theater being so small, I can't imagine that there are any truly bad seats in the hall. Should I have a choice between attending the same performance in Pittsburgh or Charleston again, I would definitely consider Charleston.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gift to West Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As WV celebrates its sesquicentennial the Clay Center continues to give the community it's gifts it continues to educate, motivate and entertain with a variety of medias. It is a rare find in a small state, but a tribute to those who had the vision. Not everyone can afford to leave the state for such interesting arts and sciences, but the Clay Center brings it to them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“debWV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

An amazing venue for concerts, plays etc. plus has a great "hands on" museum for children, art gallery, planetarium/movie theatre. The food is not great and overpriced. I have been to the art gallery several times and the displays are well done. My grandson loved the kid's museum (at 3 years old). I have seen many concerts in the main theatre and performed there as well as a part of a local singing group. There is also a small theatre that for more intimate performances. Festivall is a good time to visit - usually the last week in June.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences also viewed

 

Been to Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clay Center for the Arts and Sciences to your Saves list