We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Anchor

The Riverside Anchor
3315 Kanawha Blvd E, Charleston, WV 25306-6624
304-925-9902
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 252 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I recently dined here on two differnt occaisions while staying at the Budget Host next door. Everything we ate was delicious, and the servers were friendly and efficient both times. The place looks like it has never been renovated, so it has a dark, funky, retro feel, and it doesn't inspire much confidence in the cleanliness of the place. I like funky and retro, but wish the place presented better. Both times I was there, the place had an odor which smelled like ammonia. I chose to believe it was a cleaning agent, but unfortunately, it also put me in mind of a litter box. Go have some great food, especially the Tomato Pie and decide for yourself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Tastefull and tasteless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been t the Anchr several times, but I have had the same waitress everytime because she is great and is only there two days a week. I have the best experiance there and the food is always great, but its not only about the food its the experiance! I think if more people wuld give there input then you could change what other people may not like. The waitresses that I had the other day, which I didn't know only the great servers only work two days a week but to get straight to the point I would not come back if another server like her had to wait on me. She was toothless, stringy hair, and just didn't have the good vib I was used to. You want to come into a place and feel good about it, and I would diffenately get rid of most of your workers. For better business, and thank you for the chance to tell you

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The restaurant reminds you of the early days of travel, before Holiday Inn and the other chain motels. Every motel had a small restaurant attached and you needed to do research or take your chances when you traveled to get a decent motel and restaurant. It is the old restaurant associated with the independent motel next door and takes you back to the 50's.
The pizza is as good as or better than any you will ever taste and in fact all of the food is excellent. A real low key family restaurant with great atmosphere and food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the tomato pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Boneless wings are great too. Very casual but worth the drive. They offer take and bake if you want the taste of their pie at home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“great pizza in a dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Don't be put off by the Anchor at first glance. It is a little difficult to get to (accessible only via I-77 S/I-64 E, but not from the other direction) and is located next to what looks like a rooms-by-the-hour no-tell motel. In addition to serving as a restaurant, it also serves as an outboard motor repair shop, and we've often walked past half-disassembled outboard motors clamped to sawhorses in the front of the restaurant. The carpet is threadbare, there's duct tape patching holes in the seating, and the rest room is not spotless.

All that said, the Anchor serves one of the best pizzas I've ever eaten, and I was born in Chicago and have a lot of family in NYC. It is called a "tomato pie," and it is a thin crust pizza, with nothing more than cheese, chopped tomato, olive oil, and garlic salt on top. No gourmet toppings - if you want this, try Lola's or Pies and Pints - but this unpretentious-sounding pizza has to be experienced to be believed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Anchor also viewed

 

Been to The Riverside Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.