We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never lets me down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Stage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mountain Stage
Charleston, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in the Cultural Center, radio music shows are taped here every weekend.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never lets me down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Mountain Stage is definitely a jewel in WV's crown. You can't find a better deal - the tickets are inexpensive, and you will definitely hear someone in the lineup that is worth way more than the price of admission. No matter who the headliners are, there are always more guests there who are equally impressive, if not more so. I've gone to hear bigger names like Todd Snider & Mary Chapin Carpenter & Dar Williams, only to come away in love with a local group. There is a lot of music packed into the 2 1/2 - 3 hrs you'll be there - it's edited down for the radio show, so the live performance is definitely worth going to.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“DebWV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Mountain Stage is a must do if you are here when they are performing! I've never been disappointed. Usually, there are about 4 or 5 guest bands or artists who put on about a 15 to 10 minute concert per artist. The Mountain Stage band itself is amazing. The only drawback is that the Cultural Center Theatre seats about 700 people and often, tickets are sold out. If you do get tickets, seats aren't assigned so try to get there at least 1/2 hour early.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An Event Worth Experiencing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Mountain Stage is so much fun. The musical acts are varied - some mainstream and others alternative or up and coming. Just to see the way a radio show is produced is worth the price of admission. If you get a chance, I'd recommend trying a show. I enjoy it everytime I go whether I'm familiar with the music acts or not.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston wv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Mountain Stage is part of West Virginia Public Broadcasting,We have been to Mountain Stage numerous times and every time we have went we had a great time. An eclectic mix of music and talents. From Jessie Winchester, Nellie Mckay, to Zee Avi and more. Larry Groce is a wonderful MC. I think people visiting Charleston, Wv would be surprised to see how great a show the could see in such and intimate setting, definitely worth checking out. This is more of an adult environment unless the entertainment is billed to be otherwise do to the fact that they do record some of these shows for radio and other media purposes.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Stage also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Stage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.