We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Museum

State Museum
Lower level of the Cultural Center, Greenbrier Street, Charleston, WV
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 31 attractions in Charleston
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in the Cultural Center, this interesting museum traces the history of West Virginia through a series of exhibits containing everything from an extensive collection of antique hats donated by a local school teacher to the telescope George Washington used to survey lands within the state.
Holts Summit, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very nice museum with each exhibit chronological by dates and category. Only had about an 1-1/2 hours so not able to take in everything so allow more time. Plenty of inexpensive metered parking so take your time to walk the grounds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So much better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I live 45 minutes away from the capitol and really didn't expect much from the museum. I was in for a shock. We were really impressed with this museum. It is nicely done and decorated. It is in a timeline theme throughout the museum and seems realistic. Admission is free, but would be worth every penny if they charged.

It is located in the basement of the culture center. The culture center has a different review post on here, but I really didn't get that part. I think we must have missed parts of that, because I wasn't impressed with it. The state museum is awesome though. Nicely done!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon, lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The state museum had so much to see! We started out looking at mammoth jaws, moved through time to the civil war era, saw a vintage printing press and phone operator console among many other things. Our ten year old even enjoyed it. Directly across from the beautiful capitol building with the grounds ablaze in fall color. And it was free!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wish We Had Had More Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The State Museum is absolutley wonderful. It is next to the capitol and should not be missed. The people were wonderful and provided my wife with a motorized cart since she has some trouble walking and standing. The exhibits start in prehistoric times and work their way back to the present. Each significant time period has one or two rooms with detailed exhibits and artifacts. We could easily have spent half a day there but had to hurry somewhat because closing time was approaching. The building itself is quite new and is clean and beautiful. If you plan a trip to the capitol complex, be sure to leave enough time for this wonderful museum. There is metered parking both on the street and in a small parking lot adjacent to the museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ditto Other Reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hadn't read the reviews so I didn't expect much. State museums are sometimes scraped together collections of things people thought should be in a museum. This place is well worth a visit. After three hours was on overload but only half way through. Will have to visit another day to finish.

PS The quilts on exhibit upstairs are truly works of art.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Museum also viewed

 

Been to State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added State Museum to your Saves list