We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-managed, Well-run, great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Well-managed, Well-run, great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was such a refreshing place to stay during a ten-day road trip. The hotel was impeccably run, managed, and staffed. It was spotless, had great areas to walk your dog, a fantastic pool, and people who genuinely seemed to like working there. The bar was good, the room above-average, and the value off the charts. It's in an industrial area, but suited us perfectly for access to the interstate. Very close by - easy walking distance, in the middle of factory parking lots - is the truly excellent Mexican restaurant Los Agaves. We travel to through West Virginia multiple times per year and will stay in this hotel from now on. We feel lucky to have found it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Maureen B,

Thank you for that "Refreshing Review"! I'm glad you found the time to stay with us during your long road trip. I am pleased that we were able to make your stay a memorable one and I really look forward to seeing you during your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    62
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
74
31
7
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Festus, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The first reason this hotel is a great place to stay (especially with children) is the pool. There is a shallow area separate from the larger pool that is good for younger children. There is also a waterfall which provided lots of entertainment for our two grandchildren (ages 9 and 10). The pool also had a spray that could be turned on or off in the shallow area. The hotel's restaurant was convenient and the food was very good. It is a pet-friendly hotel which can be a pro or con.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear jdck,

Thank you for the very positive comments about our hotel. The pool is a great place for the kids as well as adults and we appreciate that you tried the restaurant. Pet friendly, good food, great pool, what more could you want? Do not forget about our complimentary breakfast and free WiFi and free parking. Come visit again soon.

Thanks,
S Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Charlston, WV Holiday Inn over the past 3 years 2-3 times per year and have always enjoyed ourselves. It is a pet friendly hotel, which we appreciate. The standard rooms and suites are comfortable and nicely furnished. The dining room has good food, the salads chicken hit the spot. The French onion soup is rich and my favorite. The offer a complimentary breakfast buffet that is fresh, hot and a step ahead of the run of the mill breakfasts. ( No instant eggs or oatmeal) ( we travel quite a bit and really look forward to this breakfast unlike so many others). We look forward to the personal interest that EACH staff member has in the quality of your stay. We happened to be there one weekend night and enjoyed the comedy club. Okay, okay most unique feature is the 17 year old bird Mosa that is in the lobby. It carries on a conversation and will whistle at ya!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Suzanne R,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel and the Holiday Inn Brand. We greatly appreciate your comments on the hotel and staff and our amenities. Mosa is quite happy about it as well! We all look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This renovated hotel was all around great, staff were friendly. We dined at the restaurant and it was good (much to my surprise). As with most hotels in the mountains its a mile or so from the interstate, however price and value make it worth it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Jason T,

Nice to hear we made a good impression! I am happy that your kids loved the pool and were happy to meet our parrot, Mosa. We look forward to seeing you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stay here every time we head to NC. Normally we have no complaints.This time however both stays (up and back) were not so good. On our way to NC we were in room 514. The toilet was used/dirty (dribble spots). The pullout was extremely uncomfortable. It had zero support, the black canvass that usually covers the bottom wasn't there, just open bars.

On our return trip home we stayed in room 416, which was very large and spacious. The curtains in the living room didn't cover the window. There is about an almost three foot gap. Upon arriving in the room, the left curtain wasn't completely attached and was hanging. My husband had to use a chair to stand on, but before he could he had to tighten the screws on the chair which were very loose. After attaching the curtain, there was an approximate 3 ft gap leaving space for people to see in. The bathroom toilet drips. The entire shower ensemble moves when you turn on the water. Adjusting the shower head was difficult. Water pressure was fine. The bed ruffle was way uneven exposing the box underneath as well as the red gummy candy on the floor. The pullout was in much better shape than the one in room 514 except for the piece of sausage at the bottom when opening it.

For $150 a night?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Murphs314,

I am sorry for the issues you experienced back in April of 2014. In that time we have commisioned new curtains and had extensive retraining with members of the staff on how our rooms are to be maintained. I assure you the issues you brought up have been taken care of. I apologize for the fact that we were not able to deliver a stay that you could rate as excellent, and I hope that you would let us prove to you on another stay that we have improved our experience back up to the expectations of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is my third time staying at the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, and time and time again, it never disappoints!! We always stay at this hotel while traveling south! The hotel is beautiful from the moment you walk in!! The staff is extremely friendly, from front desk, to the restaurant, to housekeeping. One of our favorites with this hotel is the pool/spa area, with 4 young kids, and lots of time spent in the car, they can't wait to get out and have a lot of fun! The pool is huge, and has an attached small pool for toddlers with "sprayers"! The hot tub is huge and very relaxing for us adults. We always have dinner at the restaurant, which is great because the kids eat free!! In the morning the hot breakfast buffet is complimentary as well! The room is spacious and extremely clean, as well as updated with top of the notch bedding and towels. I always get an amazing price at this hotel, what a great value for such an amazing place! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Charleston, WV area!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Holly H,

I would like to thank you for your review, and all the wonderful comments relating to our amenities and staff. It's great that you all enjoyed the pool/spa area so much! I thank you for your recommendation to others and I look forward to seeing you and the family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed in all kinds of hotels, all across the US, as well as internationally. My husband, two children, and black lab recently spent a night during a visit to Charleston. It was one of the most enjoyable hotel stays ever. The decor was stylish, the beds extremely comfortable, the pool very fun with its shooting fountains and waterfall, and the price very reasonable. But it was the staff that made our experience so great. They were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I can't wait to return to Charleston and stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Lisa R,

Your comments are very much appreciated. We love your story and that you could stay with the kids and dog and keep everyone busy. Please come back soon and black labs are always welcome too.

S Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now (as of February 16th, 2012) officially opened as the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, with a completely remodeled look and upgrades. We appreciate your comments and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.