We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Michael S. and Staff Gave Great Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Lithonia, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - Michael S. and Staff Gave Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I simply do not know where to begin! This was a wonderful experience for me! Firstly, I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was so beautiful! It was a great price! I tell you, I've paid more for less at other hotels! Therefore, I am most impressed with the location!

Michael S. really gave great service! I arrived rather early and he was kind enough to check to see if my room was available. Although it was not, he said that he could make sure that it would be ready within the next 30 minutes. I asked him about locations to eat and have gave me a few great suggestions! When I returned, my room was ready. He was so pleasant to speak to and really made my day!

He asked was I coming in for something special. I shared that I was there for my nephew's wedding. He asked if I had other family members coming and I answered in the affirmative. He was kind enough to go out of his way to ensure that we were all on the same floor! How cool is that?

The pool area, restaurants and large suites were so nice, I felt like I was at a retreat on vacation! This location is not just any other hotel to lay your head! That's for sure! It was a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful! But... you should definitely choose a suite! It has a full kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear LesliesLane,

I need you on my sales team. Your account of the experience is exactly what we are striving to accomplish. Provide you with a great experience with not only our product but more importantly with our staff. Thank you for the kind words about Mike, he is one of our many superstars.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
72
30
7
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

nice , huge, clean hotel, rooms where very comfortable, a/c was average, we walked to nearby Mexican restaurant Los Agaves, was great, average plate $7, parking good, wifi no charge, nice breakfast buffet

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Elisa J,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Holiday Inn and Suites in South Charleston, WV. We appreciate the nice comments.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was driving from Atlanta to Pittsburgh which is normally a 10 hour drive so I decided to break up the trip and spend the night in Charleston which is only a 7 hour drive. Well I made it in 12 hours so guess what not in a good mood. Everything was perfect room was great etc etc actually woke up refreshed and ready to go. Wife liked the place so much she is looking for a reason to go back and check out the local attractions. win win

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Marcos 1234,

Don’t you love it when a plan comes together? Being refreshed in order to again spend time driving always makes a trip better. Tell your wife she does not need a reason to come back to check out the area, just come for a weekend and relax in the indoor pool or enjoy room service and our Comedy Zone shows.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpson, WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Even though the hotel was filled with high school athletes it was not too noisy. Breakfast was wonderful and the students enjoyed the pool. I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear CrystalD68,

Your recommendation means a lot to us. We appreciate your time in sharing your comments.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn during a recent stop in Charleston WV to watch the state track events. While there, I ate in the Inn and had a wonderful dining experience. The cook, David Scott, was very accommodating and a pleasure to meet! Thanks for making my stay and meal a memorable experience.
-Shauna

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Shauna M,

David is wonderful. So glad he was able to make your stay more of an experience. Thanks for the recognition of a cook who does not get out of his kitchen as often as he would like.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Worst trip ever. Check in was fast then after that went down hill. Bathroom had not been swept, hair in tub, mirrors dirty. Called desk they sent up housekeeping to clean room. 2nd day come back and found dirt under desk, under the AC, and paper behind bed. Went to desk ask for the GM, attempted to reach her not avaliable. Front desk mgr came took pics and said he would talk to housekeeping. Also talked to Kimberly was very helpful said she would send email to GM but still nothing. 3rd room still not up to standards talked to Kimberly again and again an email to GM and she went out of her way to apologize. Left with no response from GM, no phone call, no visit. I am a GOLD member but would not recommend to stay here unles you check out room first. As if this writing 5/25 still no email, no phone call, or anything from GM.
phone























Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Johnny Lee F,

Communication is always a skill I continue to strive to improve. Please accept my sincere apology for not responding back to you directly. I know my manager met with you and inspected the room. He went directly to our Housekeeping Manager and I was kept in the loop. My understanding was the situation was resolved and we did a Service Recovery for the inconvenience. I was not aware that you wished to speak with me once my staff had, I thought, resolved the problem of housekeeping issues. I assure you I was not told of any additional issues nor that you wished to speak with me. I will attempt to get your information today and connect with you. As a loyal Holiday Inn guest we always wish to be sure that when we make mistakes, we fix them to your total satisfaction.

Warmly, S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Couldn't have been more pleased. The staff, especially, was super; friendly, helpful, etc. Rooms were clean and updated, beds comfortable, great pillows. We stayed here the first leg of our trip. When we were returning home, we decided to make sure we made this hotel our stop-over, as well. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear bullmar,

A complete circle. So glad you came back. It is guest like you that write these comments that make the team proud.

Thanks,
S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now (as of February 16th, 2012) officially opened as the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, with a completely remodeled look and upgrades. We appreciate your comments and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.