We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped on the way home, too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Bend IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stopped on the way home, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Couldn't have been more pleased. The staff, especially, was super; friendly, helpful, etc. Rooms were clean and updated, beds comfortable, great pillows. We stayed here the first leg of our trip. When we were returning home, we decided to make sure we made this hotel our stop-over, as well. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear bullmar,

A complete circle. So glad you came back. It is guest like you that write these comments that make the team proud.

Thanks,
S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    67
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
79
32
7
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is my third time staying here. The rooms are clean - the staff are always nice and very helpful - food in the restaurant is surprisingly good with a free continental breakfast. They have shuttle service - Yeager Airport, Amtrak, Greyhound Depot (24-hr), and to the local mall (7am-11pm). They have a pool, fitness center, and allow dogs. Don't forget to say Hello to Mosa, the owners parrot, who u might hear whistling near the lobby in the mornings.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
flaxenmane,

Mosa says Hi back to you as well. Thanks for all your comments about the Holiday Inn & Suites in South Charleston, WV.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were driving cross country and needed a first stop for the night. We've stayed in Charleston before but never at the Holiday Inn. The room and breakfast were great. The kids wished we had time for the pool which looked really nice. Short drive to downtown.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear KDonley,

Next time we hope you will be able to enjoy the great indoor pool area. Maybe on your way back. Thanks for the review.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Have stayed here before but this time sheets were very pilly, A/C did not work properly, took forever for water to heat up and grabbed yogurt and a banana on way out in the morning. The yogurt, although in a mini fridge in the lobby, was NOT cold and the banana was mushy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Jackie C,

I regret that your visit this time may not have been as perfect as in the past. Please accept my sincere apology and know I have addressed the areas you mentioned. I hope you stopped at the front desk and shared these same concerns so that they would know the room number. I appreciate the feedback and look forward to your return visit so we can show you our improvements.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Very modern looking hotel. Clean and lots of amenities. I only stayed here for the night as I passed through and just needed a bed. The room was just big enough and comfortable.

The tub didn't drain very well though. I understand maintenance things like that can happen, so didn't let it bother me too much (we were only there for 10 hours anyway. I made sure the front desk knew so they could get it fixed.

They also had free continental breakfast (stay away from the "eggs"!) and they have free wifi

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Wherenow3,

Ten hours is definitely not enough time to really enjoy all the amenities of the beautiful indoor pool, fitness room Jacuzzi and video room. Sorry that your tub drained slowly but really appreciate that you told us about it so that we could address the repair. We look forward to a return visit soon.

Thanks,
S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was traveling with my dog and needed an overnight stop as I couldn't make it all the way home. I was referred to the hotel by Bringfido.com. I will never stay here again. The room was dirty, hairs in the shower, no drinking glasses, no bags in the trash cans, candy or icing on the floor in the bathroom, looked like someone laid on the one bed, I was going to go to another room, but it was worse & I was so exhausted from driving 10 hours I just sucked it up and stayed. But I will not return. It was a shame I had to pay to stay in such a place. I had just come from another Holiday Inn at Asheville North Carolina & it was awesome in every way. So sad this was not up to the same par. The breakfast was so so. The breakfast hostess was very friendly & helpful and the check in staff was pleasant. But that is not enough to make up for the other.

Room Tip: Room on the small courtyard seemed better than those facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear OliviaJoys,

As a pet owner who travels I understand the joy in finding a hotel that welcomes my dog, I am so sorry for your experience and I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you so that we can make this right. We value all our guests and when we do not meet their expectations we want to be told about it prior to your departure so that we can make any necessary changes and improvements. I have shared your comments with our managers and we will address all the issues. Again please connect with me so that we can discuss how to make this right.

Thanks, S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, WV
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a nice hotel. Not fond of the location but not much you can do about that. The free breakfast was good and plentiful. The pool was nice. Restaurant was good. All stag I came into contact with were friendly. Parrot was a little distracting during the class I was taking in a conference room, but a cool touch to the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Travel/ByBrandon,

Thanks for the review and the positive comments. Mosa, our parrot can be frisky some days but is always something to talk about. Especially when she decides to whistle. Come back soon.

S. Arnold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West is the solution for your leisure and business travel to Charleston, WV. With an indoor pool and splash pad, fitness center, on-site restaurant and lounge, we offer everything you need for the perfect stay! The hotel is also pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.