We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Great Customer Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were driving halfway after camping and the kids really wanted to stay at a hotel. So, we stopped here to see what they offered. Beautiful! The pool area was clean and the front desk area was nice too! There is a little restaurant that has a nice feel to it and the room was wonderful! Thank you to Mia who helped us! She went above and beyond and working in retail, I appreciate good customer service and Mia definitely represents your company well! Thank you again Mia!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
April P, Thank you so much for the review and your kind comments about the hotel and about Mia! I am glad you and your kids had a good time while you were with us and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
57
26
7
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently conducted a workshop the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West in Charleston, West Virginia. Everything from the time I arrived, until e time I departed was excellent. The hotel was beautiful and clean. Upon checking in, I was very enthusiastically greeted by Kim and Mia. I had some challenges with some cords for my LCD projector cords. They were successfully handled by Nanami, my banquet specialist at no additional charge, and they even provided a complimentary flip chart. As a trainer, who teaches customer service, I was totally impressed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Charleston, West Virginia area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Carlton R, Thank you for the compliments to our staff and hotel. I am happy to hear you were impressed with the service you were given and I appreciate your recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I made an online reservation for a king suite and specified that I had a pet. Upon arrival, I was told that my room would have 2 doubles rather than a king because pets are not allowed in the king suites. I asked why I had not received a courtesy call informing me of the change in my reservation. Neither the desk clerk nor the manager had an answer other than "I don't know". I asked why Holiday Inn's online system took my credit card # for a guaranteed reservation of a king suite with a pet if the hotel wasn't going to honor the reservation. Neither the desk clerk nor the manager had an answer other than "I don't know". A second desk clerk told me that i wouldn't find another pet-friendly room in Charleston that night -- hard to say whether that was intended to be helpful or a gotcha -- she didn't offer to call any other hotels as she should have done.

The only concessions offered by the hotel were a pet fee waiver and a room rate reduction of less than 10%. When I've experienced difficulties at my usual hotels (Hampton Inns), the room has been comp'd, no questions asked.

I took the room and had more reason to regret it during the night. Four days later, my leg is still swollen where the bug in the bed bit me.

One final note -- this hotel is only a few blocks from a major refinery of some sort. God help the hotel guests if there's every a release of toxic material from that plant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Tooleyweeds,

Thank you so much for your review. While we try to honor all guest room requests and pet requests, at times, we cannot honor both together. I apologize that you did not receive the suite type you desired.

We will also check into the other issues you encountered during your stay.

Thank you so much for visiting the Charleston area. Our hotel is surrounded by a variety of businesses including industries. In fact, immediately across from the hotel are two churches and a middle school.

We hope that if you are ever traveling back through the area with your pet, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel has been the halfway stop for my family for several years, since it was a Ramada in fact. Recent renovations on basically everything really made it a great place to stop. The rooms were very clean and the hot breakfast was appreciated over a regular continental. Everyone was friendly, including the front desk manager at 1am. The indoor pool has also been updated and even though we got in too late this time, its good to let the kids get some energy out. Close to I64. The area is pretty industrial but the hotel makes up for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
scarroll76, Thank you so much for the review! It's glad to hear that we've been a stop for you for a while and we appreciate the compliments you gave us. Thank you and we truly look forward to being able to serve you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week having previously stayed there a couple of years ago. I can say for certain that the money they spent on the refurbishing was well spent.

The lobby is fantastic. Very nicely done. Nice indoor pool. The room was done nicely as well. Quite comfortable. Good bed, good shower, nice lighting and a quiet AC unit.

Easy to find and ample parking. Easy to get back on the freeway.

There is still absolutely nothing around this hotel other than a 24-hour Hardees (which may be just what someone needs at the time) but you are not far from downtown or anywhere else you want to be in Charleston.

All-in-all, a good spot to stay while in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Gramps25,

Thank you very much for such a kind review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the remodel and renovation of the hotel. It is also nice to hear you compliment the room and amenities. There are many small family restaurants just a couple of blocks away (in the other direction from the Hardee's), and I'm sorry you were not informed of them. Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family stopped here for a brief overnight stay while en route back to our home. We checked in well after midnight and were greeted warmly, professionally and then checked in promptly. The hotel is absolutely pristine and my husband commented on how contemporary it is and he "felt like he was in an upscale Vegas hotel." We were informed of the complimentary continental breakfast which was delicious & fresh. Everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. We will definitely be making this particular location our "go-to" stop for future vacations. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
truckintoduck, Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel! I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed the design and how well you feel you were treated while here. We appreciate the compliments on the staff and we look forward to seeing you soon for a future vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here for a week, was on a business trip. The rooms were small and the beds are small too but adequate for 1 person. Excellent pool area and hot tub. The place was gorgeous. The parrot is an added surprise kids would love that! The price is right! Staff was very nice and professional.

Room Tip: Park in the back, and when you leave the pool go through the grounds instead of having to walk by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
faithwalker76,

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate all your kind comments on the hotel and staff. Mosa, our parrot, is a great addition to the hotel and the kids do love her! She enjoys talking to them and to all of our guests. I hope to see you again in the future on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now (as of February 16th, 2012) officially opened as the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, with a completely remodeled look and upgrades. We appreciate your comments and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.