We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel has been the halfway stop for my family for several years, since it was a Ramada in fact. Recent renovations on basically everything really made it a great place to stop. The rooms were very clean and the hot breakfast was appreciated over a regular continental. Everyone was friendly, including the front desk manager at 1am. The indoor pool has also been updated and even though we got in too late this time, its good to let the kids get some energy out. Close to I64. The area is pretty industrial but the hotel makes up for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
scarroll76, Thank you so much for the review! It's glad to hear that we've been a stop for you for a while and we appreciate the compliments you gave us. Thank you and we truly look forward to being able to serve you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    63
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
74
32
7
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week having previously stayed there a couple of years ago. I can say for certain that the money they spent on the refurbishing was well spent.

The lobby is fantastic. Very nicely done. Nice indoor pool. The room was done nicely as well. Quite comfortable. Good bed, good shower, nice lighting and a quiet AC unit.

Easy to find and ample parking. Easy to get back on the freeway.

There is still absolutely nothing around this hotel other than a 24-hour Hardees (which may be just what someone needs at the time) but you are not far from downtown or anywhere else you want to be in Charleston.

All-in-all, a good spot to stay while in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Gramps25,

Thank you very much for such a kind review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the remodel and renovation of the hotel. It is also nice to hear you compliment the room and amenities. There are many small family restaurants just a couple of blocks away (in the other direction from the Hardee's), and I'm sorry you were not informed of them. Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family stopped here for a brief overnight stay while en route back to our home. We checked in well after midnight and were greeted warmly, professionally and then checked in promptly. The hotel is absolutely pristine and my husband commented on how contemporary it is and he "felt like he was in an upscale Vegas hotel." We were informed of the complimentary continental breakfast which was delicious & fresh. Everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. We will definitely be making this particular location our "go-to" stop for future vacations. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
truckintoduck, Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel! I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed the design and how well you feel you were treated while here. We appreciate the compliments on the staff and we look forward to seeing you soon for a future vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pineville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here for a week, was on a business trip. The rooms were small and the beds are small too but adequate for 1 person. Excellent pool area and hot tub. The place was gorgeous. The parrot is an added surprise kids would love that! The price is right! Staff was very nice and professional.

Room Tip: Park in the back, and when you leave the pool go through the grounds instead of having to walk by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
faithwalker76,

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate all your kind comments on the hotel and staff. Mosa, our parrot, is a great addition to the hotel and the kids do love her! She enjoys talking to them and to all of our guests. I hope to see you again in the future on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

A 10 million dollar remodel was done and it shows. Everything is so beautiful and modern. The room was huge and very comfortable. The salt water is a must. I would stay here again. And if Mia is working the front desk she is the best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
ymipaul,

Thank you for the compliments to the hotel and staff, especially to Mia. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to anyone passing through! From the moment you walk in, the staff was helpful and polite. The inside looks brand new. The lobby, hallways, and my room were very clean. The full bar and resturant were really nice. The bar tender could not do enough for us. The breakfast was basic, but did the job.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
MeganRooney,

Thank you so much for the recommendation! I appreciate the comments about the staff and hotel and the service you received while here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was quite impressed for a small town in WV to be so nicely remodeled and quaint experience for a night's stay. It is also safe nestled along the interstate but in a neighborhood. We had a U-Haul trailer so we were worried but thankful it was not disturbed. The pool was nice. Not a bad price for what you get and the staff appeared friendly. Thanks Holiday Inn!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSuitesC, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Pistachio77,

Thank you for the compliments! I'm happy to hear we impressed you and your family. I am also glad you enjoyed the pool. We look forward to future visits from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 2nd Ave, SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now (as of February 16th, 2012) officially opened as the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, with a completely remodeled look and upgrades. We appreciate your comments and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.