We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking Forward” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Nashville, Indiana
1 review
“Looking Forward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had stayed last fall in the middle of the remodelling and was anticipating my return trip to see how things turned out. I am very pleased with all of the updates from the entrance to the restuarant, pool, hot tub, and excercise room. It is a much better layout with a nice new look. Just wanted to say "thanks" to everyone and "nice job". Facilities make a big difference but a special thanks to the outstanding job of customer service at the front desk with Chilou. "Taking care of the Customer" is a reality here and what keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev K, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
I want to thank you so much for taking your time to give us such a kind review! I am very pleased with the service you received from Chilou & the rest of our staff. ‘Taking care of the customer’ is our reality here and I’m pleased you were here to experience it. I am also happy that you like our updates so much (We do too!). I’m so glad you returned to see the finished look of our hotel. I hope to see you again the next time you come by and will be looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    62
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
74
31
7
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one evening. The hotel was really nice. We did have one problem. When we got to our room on the top floor, we heard a loud noise behind the wall of our bed and in the bathroom. We thought it was just the remoldling of the hotel (machinary) and that they would be done working when we got back from supper. When we got back. We keep hearing it. Then it hit us only a wall behind the bed seperated the elevator from our room. We where hearing the hydrualic everytime someone pushed the button for the elevator.

The guy working at the front desk. Was so nice. He gave us a suite across the hall from our old room. so we didn't have to move to far. It was a gorgeous room. Living room, full kitchen and a seperate bedroom.

My husband and i were really suprised that they have rooms that close to the elevator. They should have made it a storage room or something else since no one could sleep in there with the noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev K, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for the Review! I’m sorry there was so much noise from our elevators in your room, and I’m glad that we were able to take care of you by moving you to a larger, quieter room nearby. I will be taking steps to see what we can do to alleviate the noise level in those rooms and appreciate your comments about it. I look forward to seeing you again when you come back through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

What a fantastic stay! This hotel has been recently remodeled and is absolutely gorgeous. The staff was very helpful and courteous throughout my stay. The restaurant has updated their menu and the food is outstanding. I tried something different each night and each entree was delicious. I travel on business throughout West Virginia and I would not even consider staying anywhere else when my work brings me to Charleston! I would definitely recommend this hotel to the business and vacation traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev K, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so such for the review! I am pleased you had such a great time and want to spend your time in Charleston with us. I also appreciate your kind words about our helpful staff and the great experiences you had with them. I am glad you enjoyed the revamped and remodeled hotel and that you are willing to recommend us. I believe you will enjoy your next stay with us just as much, and I look forward to seeing you again when you come to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West

Address: 400 Second Avenue SW, Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have now (as of February 16th, 2012) officially opened as the Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, with a completely remodeled look and upgrades. We appreciate your comments and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.