We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concert! Need I say more? Of course!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Civic Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charleston Civic Center
200 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
(304) 345-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 32 attractions in Charleston
Type: Convention Centers
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Concert! Need I say more? Of course!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Recently attended a concert at the Charleston Civic Center. My seating was good, my friends... Not so good. They ended up in the rafters, and still paid a not so good price. My recommendation.... If you can not get close to the stage... Or at least the lower level.... Don't waste your money unless you are just a die hard fan! The parking garage is okay if you can park close to the elevator... A little creepy if you have to park further out. I would do it again.... As long as I have good seats and friends to walk me to my car!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seussical, Jr.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great musical at the Little Peoples Theater. The kids were great and the talent was phenomenal!! Those kids sang their hearts out and we thoroughly enjoyed the show :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Dated center, but quite adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Here's what impressed me the most: the parking garage event fee for all day parking was only $3.00, yes you read that right, $3.00. How refreshing to not be gouged for parking like you are in most big cities. Don't know if it's like this all the time, but it was very much appreciated for our event. The civic center is of medium size, and seats in balcony not up in the clouds as at most arenas. Food options limited but adequate. All personnel were friendly and professional, sort of blended right into the background, seemed like they were there to help and not hassle. Event went off without a hitch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Matchbox 20 & GooGoo Dolls....Excellent
It was so pleasure to go to a concert and have easy access to the seats

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old venue, but works just fine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been attending events at the Charleston Civic Center for 30+ years, and with the exception of being bumped by a few drunks, it has always been good! It is starting to get a bit of age on it, but believe me, it works just fine! I would never hesitate to attend an event here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Civic Center also viewed

 

Been to Charleston Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Charleston Civic Center to your Saves list