We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Sleep Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very nice Sleep Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

s majority of the other reviews have stated, this is a very nice hotel no matter how you look at it. Room was clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and attentive. The breakfast was delicious. The rate was reasonable. Will definitely be staying here again when in area :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    69
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
61
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We drove past the Bridgeport options to get to this Sleep Inn based on the recommendations and on the fact that the hotel's website said rooms could sleep 5. When we got there, at 9:30 p.m. with kids in tow, the front desk worker said they changed the policy of allowing rollaway beds about 2 months ago and would not give us a room, we would have had to buy two. This was completely unacceptable given that I was looking at the hotel's own website, not one of the broker ones like Orbitz or such.

We drove down the road and found a HI Express. There is a reason we are priority club members there. We had no problems. No Sleep Inns for us in the foreseeable future given that unforgivable website error. There is no excuse for not changing that when the policy changed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stay a lot of places when I travel but this hotel is like home away from home for me. The staff know my name and are always friendly and genuinely care about me and my comfort. It is always clean and well kept. Rooms are in great condition (ask for room 100!) and they will do what they can to give you the room you want. Breakfast is typical free food offered by others, but it is always plentiful. Only drawback is no real selection of eateries close by. There is a family restaurant on site next door but if that's not what you are looking for, it is a 10 minute drive. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seem to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was cozy however the bed was not the most comfortable. Also, there was a weird sweet smell upon entering the room. There was a large variety of breakfast foods that were actually pretty good.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This Sleep Inn is located at exit 1 on I-79N. Getting on and off the interstate couldn't be any easier. Very nice place, plenty of parking. The room was clean, neat, and quiet with all the amenities. The flat screen TV is mounted on the wall. This gives the room a larger appearance. Plenty of channels. The HVAC system was silent. This is a gem of a place. I liked it. It is owned and operated by the Harding Family, who also own the adjacent restaurant. They are in the hospitality business and it shows in everything at this hotel. From the check-in and stay to the morning breakfast. Absolutely a gem. OK you want some complaints. There is no bath tub, only a stand up shower. Also there is no fitness room. I say skip those for another time and place and enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,236 reviews 1,236 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 266 cities Reviews in 266 cities
575 helpful votes 575 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here based on the positive Tripadvisor reviews and glad we did. We were very impressed with this hotel. It was very clean, had a nice and very comfortable bed, and a nice shower. There is a bathroom door that separates the toilet and shower from the sink and vanity. There was a small fridge in the room. This hotel is almost like new, the room was a good size, and there were enough drawers to keep things in order. They offer a free breakfast each morning in the lobby area, they have free coffee and cookies available all day, and they give their guests a free Wall Street Journal each morning. A great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this property at least three times and each time found it to be exceptionally clean and the staff helpful and accommodating. The rooms are a little on the small side but well equipped and up to date. Good lodging in Charleston can come at a good price and this place just can't be beat!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.