We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Tripadvisor recommendation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another Tripadvisor recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Traveling with our Grandchildren on the way home from Florida we set our GPS unit for the Sleep Inn in Charleston WV. After reading the Tripadvisor review we knew we would not be disappointed. We arrived at about 8:30 pm on Friday April 5, 2013 after my wife called to inquire about room availability. The polite and efficient Front Desk Clerk told her they had plenty of rooms available and a reservation would not be required but took our name and wrote it down and was expecting us upon our arrival. Check in was quick and efficient. We walked next door to the Family Restaurant for a late dinner and were welcomed with southern charm and hospitality. The food was good and reasonably priced. Our room at the fairly new Sleep Inn was modern, and clean. Although the beds were a little softer than we're accustomed to we slept well. Breakfast the following morning was very good offering something for everybody in our party. Check out was quick and the rate for the night in the $89.00 range was better than we had expected for a quality overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    72
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
57
64
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Sleep Inn Charleston WV is easy access off I-79, just east of Charleston. The hotel is situated between the interstate and the Elk River with beautiful views of a golf course. It is a very clean hotel and the staff was friendly. Our single queen bed room was very small, with modern decor. The shower was a single stall, no tub. My likes: open stairwell from lobby to my 3rd floor room; treadmill (even though it is in a room with vending machines and laundry); hard boiled eggs available for breakfast; cleanliness; quiet; and comfortable bed. The restaurant adjoining the property parking lot was busy though we did not try it ourselves. There is also a pizza shop across the road.

Room Tip: ask for river side rather than road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were redecorated a couple years ago and are very pretty, clean and comfortable. The sheets were soft, the beds comfortable, and the free hot breakfast makes mornings with kids go so much easier. Would certaily recommend the little restaurant next door for dinner too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Rarely do I book a Choice Property for more than one night if I e never stayed there and this one was no different. The staff is great here and very eager to accommodate their guests. This is a remodeled property that you can tell a lot of money was spent here. The room was super clean and the Housekeeping dept. takes pride in their hotel. The head housekeeper has been here a long time and seems to genuinely have an interest in your comfort. Tho only downside to the whole experience is there is only one Resturant close but that is not a reflection on the hotel itself. I stayed another night after my first night because it was just right for my travel plans this week. The work desk in this room needs to be changed around as the TV is to your back when working at it. That's kind of a deal to me. The breakfast is better than your average Sleep In Great property.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being a young teacher, I wasn't looking for something high end. I just wanted comfort with all the basic necessities. When I exited the highway, this hotel was right off the ramp. It was out of the town, but it was out just enough to be in the quiet. It only takes about a five minute drive to get into the downtown area. I was happy with my stay, the staff was friendly, the room was clean, and although it was small, I loved the decor. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thought I would try this hotel to build some Choice points for later in the year. Overall it is a good solid hotel to consider for the area. There is no real thrills in the hotel. No pool. No little fitness area from what I could find. The hotel isn't surrounded by businesses and restaurants as is many of the other Charleston sites. It is even out of town.

These may be negatives for some people, but may actually be positives for others. The hotel is out of town, but right by the interstate. You can access the interstate and get most of Charleston as quickly or even quicker than you would by staying at one of the Maccorkle Ave motels. The price is actually similar to what you would pay for South Charleston, St. Albans, or Kanawha City. There is a local restaurant in front of the motel that you pass to get to the motel. It has mom and pop hours, but it does seem to attract the locals so I would assume it is a good restaurant.

As to the motel itself. It looks pretty recently remodeled. I have had more comfortable beds, but they did the job. The room was cleaned and properly stocked. The front desk personnel was friendly and kept coffee out in the morning for people after the breakfast hours and cookies in the evening. The television was decent and got the popular channels most hotels subscribe to in the area. The wi-fi worked well, was quick and I was able to access it without much trouble. I would say of the Choice chain selections this hotel would be your best alternative in the area because of it's convenience to town. The others seemed farther away and a few are in rougher areas of town. I didn't go down for breakfast, but it looked like a decent sized area and possibly even some hot items (there were some steamer units on the one counter) to choose from. If you want to park you car and be able to walk everywhere to shop and to avoid the traffic congestion after a concert this one might not be right for you, but if you want something different next time you stay in the area you may give this one a shot.

Room Tip: I ordered one on the front of the hotel. The interstate is on the back side so you may be able to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

or an upscale Microtel. Look. It's a well maintained property with a friendly staff, in a scenic location, (its gazebo overlooks a river that's way cleaner than ANY I've seen in Fla). Overall, Sleep Inns are the best chains without a pool. (In this case. I looked, but the fact I didn't find it doesn't guarantee there wasn't one). The room (#315) was a very WELL thought out for a compact room using every squre foot of its floor space. Such as positioning the mirrors so that you can see the TV everywhere in the room, including the toilet and the shower, ( which probably annoyed the neighbors). The room had a mini fridge/ microwave under the desk which had a chair that could double as a recliner (when placed beside the bed). I don't comment on the breakfast bar because after 30+ yrs of working Shift 2-3, I don't eat breakfast ( since I DON'T want to get up THAT early)! This hotel has a family restaurant adjacent to it ( with a surprisingly loyal local clientel). This property is directly across the river from the airport.
Now WHY it didn't get a 5 out of five.While there is a restaurant next door ,it dosen't serve beer/wine. The next closest restaurants are either in downtown Charleston or on Exit 9 on I-79, There are grorcery stores on NB on US119, towards Elkview, (which THIS weekend seems to be popular with motorcyclists, though they calm down after dark).
BOTTOMLINE I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Odd # room are on the south (sun in winter) side of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.