We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Sophia, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a spur of the moment stop when my normal hotel was full and did not have any rooms. I had never stayed at a Sleep Inn before and foe some reason thought this was a low end, cheap place to stay. When I walked in the front door at 9:00 pm, I was impressed with the decor and cleanliness of the property. There was still some popcorn and cookies were also still available. This two story Inn has an elevator for easy access to the second floor, but our Suite was on the first floor so we did not have to use it, although the Ice cream vending machine is on the second floor, but, once again, we did not use this either. Did not use the pool or hot tub, but looked and smelled clean and inviting. Wish we had brought a suit along.

Our King Suite was spacious and clean. Breakfast was delicious and included the standard Choice Hotels Waffles, Boiled Eggs, etc. There were also sausage patties, fried scrambled egg rounds, various fresh fruits, yogurt, etc., etc., etc available. Overall one of the best hotels we have stayed at at any any price point. well worth considering if you are in the area. or even if you have to stop early or late.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    71
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
63
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our second stay at this motel and I rate it 5-star because it's really a good value. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff are very friendly. The free breakfast is significantly better than you get at most motel chains -- good hot eggs and sausages, biscuits and gravy, pastries, cereals, fruit salad, juices, coffee and tea. Everything in the room worked. Nice big flat-screen TV, free WIFI, mini fridge, coffee maker. Our bathroom was small, but we liked the roomy, superclean stand-up shower. And SOFT, FLUFFY towels. Why can't all motels do it this way? With AARP discount, this accommodation is a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and were very pleased with the facilities. Our room had two double beds and was located in a quiet location on the second floor. The room appeared to have recently been renovated and everything looked very clean. The room was somewhat small and the bathroom was compact. We had expected these things from reading previous reviews and we needed the room to sleep, not entertain.

All the staff were very pleasant, especially the attendant at breakfast. The breakfast food was good and adequate. I was impressed that they included sausages as part of the breakfast.

I can add very little to the other reviews posted here and we made our hotel selection based on these recommendations.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room on the side away from the interstate. The A/C unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Sleep Inn was newly renovated, spotless, and comfortable. The breakfast had a lot of variety and was very good. Although the room was compact compared to some other hotel chains, it was all we needed and a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was very impressed with the quality of the fit and finish of the room. It was clean and well appointed for a Sleep Inn chain hotel. The price was very good with the AAA discount.

The breakfast was more than adequate to get us started on our day. There was plenty of dining space with the overflow room available.

Staff was helpful and friendly.

I will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed or stay at this hotel and will continue to return. Our daughter will be attending the University of Charleston this fall and we've stayed twice - never to be disappointed. The staff is always very friendly and the rooms are very clean. I hardly think that the staff can anticipate the noise level of it's guest (prior review). I would guess that if you voiced your displeasure, they would try to make things right - they seem that accommodating. The breakfast was very adequate - something for everyone - p.s. It is complementary. All in all, we'll be back in August and again in October. It's a great place to stay!




Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Room 130 on a recent Thursday night on our way north. It was reasonably quiet, although we could clearly hear the thumping of our upstairs neighbors' feet above us.

The breakfast offerings were typical for the chain but the breakfast area was far too small to accommodate the hotel's guests on a full morning. The cookies in the lobby make up for a lot, though. The WSJ is available every morning.

The location is a bit out of the way but not too hard to find, just off Exit 1 on I-79.

All in all, not a bad rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.