We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Better than average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Arrived with no reservation and got a room immediately. Room was very clean, small pillows though. Resturant next door owned by same owners and was pretty good. Got a chicken fried chicken but was disappointed with the portion size. Wife's sandwich was ample size. Located right off interstate, but couldn't hear it that much. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    71
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
67
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The good:
The hotel was recently remodeled and very clean. The bed were comfortable. Check in and check out were efficient. Good price. Close to the interstate.

The bad: Mot enough surface space to put things. Bathroom was too small, way small.
Breakfast was not up to standard for this type of hotel.

All in all ok!, but if I was here again I might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed three nights on a recent family trip. The hotel is well-kept and is good for its class. The staff were EXCELLENT. They were friendly and helpful always - going above and beyond when we requested various things. Anyway, here are the pros and cons:

Pros:

Nicely decorated and clean rooms
Top-notch staff
Good wireless
Good cookies at the front desk in the afternoon
Good value for the price

Cons:

Not very close to food or shopping options (but, the family food restaurant next to the hotel has pretty good food!)
Limited breakfast foods
No swimming pool
Very small bathroom

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sleep Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews.
I called the hotel and made reservations - and asked for a quiet room. That turned out to be a mistake.

Room:
The room was small - with two double beds. I knew this going in, but it didn't hit me until we realized how much smaller they are than queens. Do yourself a favor and find another hotel if you're looking for queen sized beds.
The room was clean and newly remodeled.

Location:
This hotel is right off interstate 79 (about a mile from 77). The family who owns this hotel also owns the family restaurant next door, which was good for a late dinner.

Hotel staff:
The staff was polite. However, because I asked for a quiet room, I jinxed it. They put us next to (in an adjoining room) to a family with a small CRYING baby and active SCREAMING toddler. They were noisy until the wee hours and also in the morning around 6 am.
I didn't complain, because I'm sure it would have done no good.

Note to hotel staffs: If a traveler asks for a quiet room, please don't put them in an adjoining room to a loud family.

Breakfast:
This hotel, like so many others, offers a breakfast as part of the hotel cost. It had eggs (formed for sandwiches), round sausage, muffins, biscuits, sausage gravy (which I originally thought was oatmeal), and bagels. Two types of cold cereal were offered, as well as coffee, tea, juice, and fresh fruit.

There was a room with a washer and dryer and treadmill. I believe there was a pool, but we didn't see it or look for it.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel only if you're willing to risk noise and small rooms. It was clean and relatively inexpensive ($94 plus taxes, fees, etc.).

If you're a family, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT adjoin another room. The walls appear to be very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After a stop at the casino we stayed here for the night. It was very nice and we had no wait whatsoever at checkin. We were on our way back to the east coast from Nashville, and the on/off from the highway was very convenient.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 2100+ mile motorcycle trip and cost wise figuring in the great rooms, this was by far our best value. Just enough of a breakfast to satisfy a light morning eater. LOVED the rooms! Very updated and absolutely beautiful. Staff was extremely friendly. My friend and I look forward to returning to Charleston, having not realized what a beautiful city it is, and will definitely consider staying here again. It's only drawback is that it is not within walking distance to the city proper - and I'm not sure this is something "bad". Right off of I79 though no highway noise and close to I77.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is a great place for a family to shack down at during a trip. The rooms are clean, compact (very European), and offer free wifi, a nice perk. The staff was extremely friendly, and the breakfast was decent, though it is not cuisine if that is what you need. The location is good if you're looking to hop back on the freeway and keep going, though it isn't in a neighborhood. No walking to a cafe or anything like that. But all in all, for what it is trying to be, it is well worth it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 2772 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.