We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of service not property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
1 review
“Review of service not property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I greatly appreciate the customer service received by Travis. I made a mistake in booking and was told by Best Western 800 number that there was nothing that could be done. As a loyal Best Western customer, I was disappointed that they would not work with me. When I called this property Travis LISTENED to my problem, and worked with me to resolve. Very much appreciated !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    83
    66
    36
    32
See reviews for
96
60
20
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Overall the facility is about what you would expect for the price point. Breakfast was hot and tasty. Fitness & Business center were clean and had good equipment. While most of the staff is friendly the desk clerk that worked 7/24/14 was rude and actually yelled at guest over by the elevator. She is teh weak link on their team

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is downtown right off the highway It is an average hotel Not super clean Not a nice atmosphere Lots of people just hanging out When we were there people were blasting rap music illegally parked in the parking lot and grilling. We parked in the lot next door at Fairfield because of all the rif raf Beware there is no parking at times and if you park in the street you have to feed the meter. It is ghetto all around Be on your toes. The breakfast was awesome lots of hot & cold items. Not clean Not new Horrible fitness center & computer center Pool is nice

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stay here often and the staff is usually very friendly and very helpful. The hot breakfast is always good. The hotel itself is starting to wear badly and it doesn't always look like it is clean. Not a bad place to stay for the money but definitely not a top of the line property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here on business in April for 2 days. I stayed on the second floor of this basic hotel -- there are not many great choices in Charleston, but I thought it was safe. I used the security latch on the door -- and was especially glad that I did. Around 10 pm, someone opened my door and tried to get in. I yelled and told them to back off. The front desk apologized about it and said that it was a security guard. I decided to stay another night after that explanation, and it happened again the next night about 11 pm. There really was no excuse for the first time someone tried to break into my room (whether it was a security guard or hotel staff) -- and certainly not for the next time. The hotel manager was not helpful or offered any apology. As a woman, I do not need this type of safety worries at a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorktown va, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our room was a disaster..to start, the pillow cases were dirty and had hair on them, the TV remote was in a container called "Clean Remote" however, it was full of grime. The bathroom shower tub was full of hair to include the drain which was clogged with hair. The toilet seat had urine marks on it and the ceiling tiles were water damaged. If that wasn't bad enough, the TV only got three channels and the room and hallways reeked of smoke. We asked for another room but they were sold out and we really didn't have any choice but to tough it out. The hotel didn't even offer a discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good location, downtown. Well kept building and rooms. Reasonably priced. Has a smoking floor, which most hotels no longer have. Needs another elevator.Parking lot is nicely located in front of hotel, only a few feet from entrance, Breakfast was not great but the coffee was. WIFI was easy to access to both my cell phone and tablet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to downtown Charleston, the airport and many West Virginia attractions, the Charleston Plaza Hotel invites you to enjoy comfortable accommodations, complimentary continental breakfast and value vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charleston
Charleston Plaza Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.