We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Housekeepers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Charleston, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lazy Housekeepers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel has been generally rated very good for me. This trip I was very dissatisfied with housekeeping and bathroom amenities. The room was not cleaned and the bath sink did not drain properly. Housekeeping placed the DO NOT DISTURB tag on the door so they did not have to clean the room. I never use the DO NOT DISTURB sign, ever. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary a, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am very sorry for the inconvenience of the Housekeepers not cleaning your room. I am just curious if you told the front desk, because I know they would have helped you out. I am sure you had been working hard all day and wanted to come back to a nice clean room. I deeply apologize that this happened to you. I have notified the Housekeepind Department and they are taking care of this immediately. I would love to make it up to you. Please let me know when you are coming back to town and I will personally make sure you have a excellent stay.

Marya@swhm.com

Mary Adams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    82
    65
    35
    30
See reviews for
93
59
20
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Best Western in Charleston, WV. The staff was very friendly and respectful. They made sure we received everything that was needed. The room was very clean and decorative. The bed was very comfortable. We got a good night sleep. Also, the breakfast was delicious. There's a lot to choose from. Oh! the price was reasonable.and we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary a, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! It is greatly appreciated and I will be posting it up for all to see. I hope you will return soon!

Mary Adams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a great stay. We had our grand-daughter so the pool was used more than anything, it was clean. The rooms were clean. We enjoyed the breakfast area and the food was great. Check out was great. Check inn not so great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary a, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We encourage all feedback. I hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent place to stay on a stop over, Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and good food. Staff went the extra mile to arrange transport and make us feel welcome in the U.S. Would come back to the Best Western again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary a, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. We love to hear feedback. Thank you again.

Mary Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

although we were just staying the one night to give our bones a rest, the hotel has some good things like the outdoor pool. it could use more luggage carts and another elevator. the corridores could use a lift in brighter but softer colours and trim. the important stuff like the comfort of the bed and the breakfast were the best part of this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary a, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback. We hope you will return.


Mary Adams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our room was very nice, but TV remote was broken and the volume on TV shut off. Staff was great, and not very informative about walking. Don't walk anywhere. Not a safe area. We are from Indianapolis and our downtown is very safe and friendly. Always a police officer around and very well lite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary a, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I will let our staff know. We are always wanting to improve and your feedback counts. Thank you.

Mary Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Clean and comfortable hotel. Vending machines light but they had a biker convention in town the day before. Very kind staff and good breakfast. Bathroom tub could use some updating. Got a sale price of $86 before taxes. I wouldn't pay more for the value though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary a, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice compliments. I will make sure my staff sees the review.

Thank you!

Mary Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to downtown Charleston, the airport and many West Virginia attractions, the Charleston Plaza Hotel invites you to enjoy comfortable accommodations, complimentary continental breakfast and value vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charleston
Charleston Plaza Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.