We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Clean and Comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple, Clean and Comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

When I stayed at Best Western, I thought my room was fairly clean, nice and comfortable. Granted it is not the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at, but for a night's stay, it is pretty decent. The bathroom was pretty decent and clean. The location is great, as the local mall ( with restaurants) is a couple of blocks down the street from the hotel.

The staff was very friendly, nice, and accommodating. They were extremely helpful when recommending places to eat and even provided a map and gave directions, which was nice. For the affordable price and brief stay, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    85
    74
    41
    32
See reviews for
103
63
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel looks nice and modern and the rooms have a nice feel.
Here is what we found.
Clear creamy stain on bed coverlet.
Threadbare and Pilled sheets on bed,
Long Black Hair under pillows.
Short Hairs in the Bathroom.
A/C made the room very humid. (Temp outside may have been a factor)

The Breakfast was really quite good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

You won’t know what really bad is until you stay at the Best Western Charleston, WV.
Mildew and grim running the full length of the bath tub base, toilets that do not consistently flush but consistently run day and night, carpets with animal hairs and assorted dirt that has remained untouched for some length of time and heat/air controls that must not be connected. Overall this facility exceeds expectations if you like dirty, smelly and outdated facilities.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stopped here on our way home from vacation and right off the bat did not have enough parking for having fairfield inn directly next to it. The room was just plain gross. Ceiling had cob webs, lamp shades were broken. The bathroom was worse. Shower had a rack inside of it with the towels. Paint chipping, toilet didn't seem cleaned, marks all over the walls.. Not to mention how loud people were that night, slamming doors and swearing. It was a last resort otherwise I would not of stayed if i knew it was that bad.!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

i was very pleased overall with this hotel and staff. was very clean and rooms very clean and comfortable. the pool was a good size and clean. the only thing was that the pillows were very uncomfortable, bunching up and not soft,as they were down material. foam or fiber material would have been much comfortable. staff was very kind and helpful. breakfast was very good. if i come b ack to charleston, i will be back at this hotel.

Room Tip: top floors have great views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped in Charleston on our way home from a family reunion, the front desk staff was not very friendly and we waited for a longtime to get on the ONLY LIFT for our 6th floor room. We weren't expecting a grand breakfast buffet but the food were worst than some motel I have stayed before.
Overall,I slept okay (probably from driving for 12 hours) and shower works but I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, AR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

At first glance, the hotel looked decent. Parking situation was weird we had to park in the adjacent lot for the Fairfield but whatever. I had read reviews about musty hallways but they just looked and smelled like your average hotel hallways. The room upon entering appeared updated and clean... Then we entered the bathroom! There was urine all over the back of the toilet and brown streaks inside (which I'm pretty sure was rust but not quite sure!). Thank God I had Clorox wipes I wiped down the whole bathroom I wasn't about to call the front desk and have the same inept staff clean it. The tub was very dingy and had mold around the caulking. I wore flip flops in the shower because of that but it had a slow drain so the flip flops didn't help. Toilet is extremely noisy and takes an extremely long time to quiet down after using it. Entry doors are not very noise proof you could hear every movement in the hallway which made for a restless night. Beds and pillows are pretty firm so if you don't like that be warned. Front desk tried to pull the same "dim lights make
the bathroom appear dingy" spiel but I took pictures. Dim lights don't pee on the back of the toilet or make caulking have black mold. Bathroom outlets moved around when you plugged or unplugged - yikes! Breakfast was your normal offerings and we didn't use the pool or any other amenities so I have no opinion on those.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 1010 Washington Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to downtown Charleston, the airport and many West Virginia attractions, the Charleston Plaza Hotel invites you to enjoy comfortable accommodations, complimentary continental breakfast and value vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charleston
Charleston Plaza Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Charleston Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.