We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORSE DUMP ON THE FACE OF THE EARTH” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Knights Inn Charleston
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   6401 MacCorkle SE, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
North Port, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“WORSE DUMP ON THE FACE OF THE EARTH”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We were traveling from Maryland to Kentucky for our sons wedding. After driving for 8 hours we were very sleepy and wanted a hotel right along the way. We were looking for something a bit cheaper to save money for the time we would be in Kentucky during the wedding and festivities. The person behind the counter was a teenager and no other staff was around. The place looks okay from the outside but I think the outside property is all they do anything with. We were first giving room 216 upon entering the place was very dirty and had the strongest smell of urine you could imagine. We right away complained and asked for another room before unpacking. The child behind the counter then gave us room 219. It smelled a little smoky upon entering but my wife and I were going to try to make the most of it. I sat down on the toilet to do my business and the next thing I knew the entire toilet crashed over on its side. The top of the tank crashed into the tub and all the water soaked the floor. I hurt my wrist trying to catch myself as it fell toward the tub. The entire commode was not bolted to the floor and had been rotted out. Here after 8 hours of driving my clothes were wet and i had an injured wrist. After that happened my wife came to see if i was alright. We were in total shock that this place was open at all. We pulled the blanket back and there were feces stains all over the bed. Also the microwave oven had bare wires hanging out the side. We took plenty of pictures. We went back over to talk to the child behind the counter who called the manager on the phone a jerk by the name of Andy Patel. It took us about an hour before he told the kid behind the counter to refund our money. Then the kid tried to give us 10 bucks less then we paid. No apology, no offer to put us up in another hotel for the night. The kid said he didn't have the power, we asked to speak directly to Mr. Andy Patel. Andy Patel told the kid he wouldn't get on the phone with us. Said for us to come back the following morning. So hurt and wet we went across the street to the Days Inn and had a very good nights sleep it only turned out to be only 7 bucks more then the dive. The next morning we returned to the Knights Inn in hopes they would make things right. The kid was behind the counter and Andy Patel was on the grounds but hid and would not show himself. We did file an accident report with the kid and a formal complaint with the Knights Franchise Systems Customer Service Complaint Department. They told us to file the complaint with the owner of the Knights Inn which just so happens to be named Rick Patel. They said if Mr. Patel don't respond to call them back to take further action. This has been a true hotel Horror Story.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    14
    11
    46
See reviews for
26
13
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Small Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I just recently stayed in the Knights Inn in the Charlestown location hotel, to visit the races. I want to make a point in how disapointed my girlfriend and I were with our stay. When we first arrived we felt very welcomed. On our way to our room, the lights in the hall were out, making it very difficulto to find our way in the wet rain. When we got to our room, we noticed there was not fridge. We were not informed of this, and had beverages that needed to keep cold. So, despite the misunderstanding we went to the ice machine to fill up the hotel ice bin, but we found the ice maching was not operating correctly for the whole hotel, leaving no ice. When we asked about no ice, she said to return in a few hours it may be fixed. At this point it was too late. At the first attempt to our bathroom, the toilet did not work. We called for maitence and they brought us the plundger to unplunge it, even though we had never clogged it. We still could not get it to work, so a lady came to assist. She was very polite, but did no help. After arriving back from the casino the toilet still did not work. We called the front desk and requested a new room. The room, was at the opposite end of the hotel, when there were vacant rooms next store. We had to repack all our belongings at midnight to make this change of rooms. The new room, to our surprise, had a fridge. We specically made a point to have a fridge said the rooms did not have any, and the only fridge was in the lobby. After we settled in the new room, the beds were not suitable. There were dozens of hair spread everywhere, as if the sheets were not changed in months. We felt most comfortable on top of the covers, and were not able to use the pillows either. Despite all the mishaps of the long day, we decided to just go to bed. This would have been a lot simpler if the hotel's spouting was maintained. Throughout the whole night we were constantly woken by a very loud and unpleasant sound of a broken gutter. We tried to bring this to the attention of the lady at the front desk as we were checking out, but she simply did not care. This was by far our worst experience in a hotel ever. We hope that this note will fix some things so nobody will have to go throught the sames things we hade to, and ruin their get away.
-Thanks

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockingham nc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

rooms clean, internet you need to sak for where it works, mike in room frig, pool but make sure u look at what you are paying for. i like it, but i like cost over best. money mined..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

A family emergency occurred and left my family and I driving 2 hours to be at the hospital. We needed a motel close by, and most places had no vacancies due to the reports of a snow storm coming in. The motel was so run-down. The rooms were filthy, bugs in the bathroom floor, the heater did not work, and the small refrigerator froze my small child's medicine (and it was on the bottom shelf). We had no where to go and spent the first night unwillingly, and the staff was no help whatsoever. We left the next day, no refund, no I'm sorry, nothing. Never again! Never! I would rather slept in my car than to stay there!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed here one night while traveling. It was very convenient to interstates 77 & 64. As a dog person it was nice to be able to back up to the door to unload crates. We were given an end room that gave us easy access to grass. However, this is an old place with no frills, but was reasonably clean and everything worked.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This was a one night stay for my family as we were driving across WV. We were so exhausted when we came to this little hotel.

We thought it was quiet and clean.

BUT it was barely functional. The light panels were falling on our heads as we washed our faces, bed springs were popping out on our backs, making for a very bad night's sleep, and it just felt very cheap.

For breakfast, they provided were coffee and stale donuts.

On our way out, we asked the front desk worker how to get to a certain highway nearby, and he said he had no idea.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.V. USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The non-smoking room was clean but quite dated. My room included two double beds, a fridge, microwave and television. There was no hair dryer or iron/board. The air conditioning unit was very powerful. The pool seems new and is really nice. The staff was friendly. The signal from the wireless internet was extremely weak in my room. I would suggest using a coupon from a travel guide, and even at that the rates seem a little pricey considering the location and very out dated rooms. However if you are just looking for a nice clean place to stay that is close to local restaurants, stores and a mall, this is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Charleston

Address: 6401 MacCorkle SE, Charleston, WV 25304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Charleston 1.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.