We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Knights Inn Charleston
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   6401 MacCorkle SE, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Burlington, ky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were on a 12 hour drive home from vacation and decided to stop for the night. Coming off vacation we were looking for an inexpensive hotel to stay since it was literally just to sleep.

As the saying goes, you get what you pay for! The hotel was cheap and not very inviting. Pretty sure many people live here. After we were checked in and settled, there were several rooms with doors open and people sitting in the parking lot drinking.

The room itself was not so great. Everything was very worn, old, cracked, stained but clean. The beds were ok, pillows were awful. You didn't get much sleep as the place didn't feel very safe overall, I was worried about my car. You can hear most everything from outside so any little noise woke you up.

Very convenient to the interstate so easy to get back on the road in the morning. There are several restaurants nearby

Next time through, would spend a little more and stay at one of the other hotels in the area, there are several others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    12
    10
    43
See reviews for
24
11
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place is noisy 100% of the time. Many people seem to live here and are extremely loud with music and talking. The only thing I can say in its favor is that it is somewhat clean. Bedding is noticeably old and worn out. Don't come here if you plan on sleeping. I was constantly worried our cars would be broken into.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent one night travelling through the area. Many of the hotels in the area were full so we came here. Location was very convenient to Charleston, midland trail and the highway. Room was adequate and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

While the bed linens appeared fresh and clean, EVERYTHING else about this place was dismal. The morning weed whacker outside our room was the perfect send-off. It served as a rest stop enroute, but we left as soon as possible in the morning.

Room Tip: Find alternate lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This roach motel is the worst place I've ever stayed. I've been to third world countries and those would be considered five star compared to this horrible room. Very strange people walk the parking lots, I saw two men looking inside our SUV windows. Rooms are dirty and falling apart, appears to have blood stains on the floor. The bathroom has mold growing up the walls and tile floor does not have grout tiles slide. Electrical outlets are half uncovered and will shock you. Beds are uncomfortable and I've had bugs crawling on me. I can't believe this place hasn't been shut down due to conditions. I could go on and on and tell you endless reasons to avoid this infestation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slatyfork wv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was partly my fault. I had booked the room through wyndam rewards and put in the wrong dates. I contacted wyndam. They were very nice and said for me to stay on the line and they would call the knights inn. The knights inn said too bad!
Our computers are down and there is nothing they could do. Of course their credit card machine was working and they charged me anyways. Now they will get paid twice. I own a small inn and I know full well they could have issued a credit. We stay in Charleston regularly and will never stay their again. REALLY BAD customer service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Charleston

Address: 6401 MacCorkle SE, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Charleston 1.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.