We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Virginia Veterans Memorial

West Virginia Veterans Memorial
Greenbrier Street, Charleston, WV
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 31 attractions in Charleston
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Site where sculptor Joe Mullins' work is displayed.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This memorial was very well thought out and instills a sense of pride when you walk through and read the names listed on the walls. I highly recommend stopping in and seeing this sight.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

West Virginia did it right when they decided to honor their veterans!. The memorial is impressive from every angle and pays tribute to all the West Virginians who have served and especially to those who died. The memorial is located on the State Capitol grounds near the WV Cultural Center.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well Done State Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I grew up just outside DC and now live in Kentucky. I would expect to see the type of memorial that West Virginia has as something that might be in D.C. (just on a little grander scale). I did not expect to see something like it in West Virginia. Kentucky has some nice memorials too, but nothing like this that I've seen. Impressive job. A nice honor to those West Virginians who were lost in the 4 wars (WWI, WWII, Korea, Vietnam)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping To See Capitol Building and Memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were passing through Charleston and decided to stop to show our kids the capitol building. Pleasantly surprised to see the West Virginia Veterans Memorial. What an outstanding tribute to those who fought for our freedom! The statues representing the different wars had great detail and the names of those who died on the memorial reminds us of how many have died for our country, thus making the ultimate sacrifice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful memorial! Stopped here for a brief moment after my son's eye appointment to let him see it. He absolutely loved it! I can't wait to return with the rest of my children!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Virginia Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to West Virginia Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Virginia Veterans Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.