We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way to spend an afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cultural Center

Cultural Center
Capitol Complex, 1900 Kanawha Blvd, Charleston, WV
304-558-0220
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Civic Centers, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Complex that houses a variety of interesting tourist sites such as the State Museum, reference libraries, and a live-performance theater.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A good way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Modern, clean and informational presentation to West Virginia's history, culture, and effects on the development of the United States.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Visit and Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

On our first visit to Charleston we make a point of stopping by the Cultural Center. We spent about 90 minutes reviewing the history of West Virginia dating back thousands of years. It wasn't long enough. If you go, try to set aside about three hours to get through all the exhibits... they're very educational and totally free. We didn't have the grandchildren with us but other families with kids seem to be enjoying themselves. Currently there are displays of handmade quilts that are very impressive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was absolutely impressed by the state museum that is housed at the Cultural Center. This was my first trip to WV, and having been to some other state capitols I wasn't sure what to expect but this was completely amazing. I was only able to spend about 2 hours which was not enough time for this very well laid out self tour. The quality of items, interpretive signage and variety of points in time really made a fine collection that West Virginian's should be very proud of. It's incredible that a few people during the late 1700's and early 1800's would have the notion to set aside items that would be of cultural significance - and they were right! I hope to get back some day to really explore again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrific Space!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Charleston for Mountain Stage (which was beyond wonderful btw) and loved the Center. It's an inviting, bright space. I would go to anything there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Mountain Stage - a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went to Mountain Stage concert on Sunday evening. Impressive venue, not a bad seat in the place. Bought tickets online (which I would suggest, they regularly sell out). Good temperature. Only disappointment was that one of the performers we went to see was unable to perform

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.