We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much marble!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol

Capitol
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, Charleston, WV
304-558-4839
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Government Buildings, Architectural Buildings
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Designed by influential architect Cass Gilbert, this grand building, the highest state capitol dome in the United States, is open to the public for tours and features decadent interior details like marble walls a massive crystal chandelier.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much marble!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a beautiful place to visit. We walked right in and there was a person at the desk who offered us a map. We enjoyed the videos which helped explain the history of the building as well. The building had so much marble. It was on the walls, the floors and even some of the hand rails. There was an 8' crystal chandelier in the middle under the dome and the place was huge. Very impressive. They also mentioned there was a free museum in one of the other buildings. We went there and were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the collection and variety. Definitely a must go if you are visiting the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    38
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was a beautiful buiding with very nice grounds. I enjoyed going through here and would advise others to check it out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holts Summit, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very beautiful building. took a tour. unfortunately the Senate Chamber was being remodeled and the House Chamber was occupied by a group so was unable to enter those portions of the building. Tour guide was friendly and informative of the historical aspects of the Capitol. Very beautiful building!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The capitol is beautiful. Inside and out. Inside you can read the history and see the bear and giant chandelier in the dome. I have never done a guided tour, but I hear they have them. Do be sure to have change to pay the meter outside!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful Capitol Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

In my opinion, this is the most beautiful capitol building in the United States and rivals the national capitol in Washington, DC. The dome and the crystal chandeliers are magnificent. Unfortunately, we visited at a time when there were no guided tours and when the House and Senate chambers were closed. We visited on a Saturday and metered parking was available right outside the building. We will certainly plan to return the next time we are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.