We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good, even for a budget price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not good, even for a budget price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This was a place chosen just to sleep for the night while passing through on a long road trip. I chose it due to the high recommendations on Trip Advisor, but now, I cannot understand how they have gotten the rating they have. The location is a stone's throw from the interstate, and the noise from the road is very loud, even in the rooms. The hotel is dark (we arrived at night) and dirty. It was packed and if we had not had reservations, there would not have been a room available. This also means there was NO PARKING anywhere near the room we had, and we had to walk a long way in the dark in a sketchy-seeming area to get to our room. The room was smelly and dingy, and the beds were VERY uncomfortable. Between the hard beds and the noise, the main point of our stay (sleep in the first leg of a road trip) was nullified. Also this whole area of Charleston has a bad smell, maybe because of nearby industry. This was evident the next morning when we dined at a nearby restaurant for breakfast (hotel does not provide even a basic breakfast). I know it is a budget hotel, but we stayed at several hotels on this trip that were priced less than this one, and they were MUCH better. This hotel is rated much higher here than it deserves to be.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
54
47
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taiyuan, China
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This seems to be a fairly standard remodeled Red Roof motel. The location is not pretty, and there is some noise from the highway, but seems safe and there are some restaurant options nearby.

The rooms are clean and attractive. As with some others in the chain, the King rooms are tiny, so it can be better to choose a two-bed room or one of the larger king suites (actually the same size as the double rooms) with the fridge and microwave, but that typically costs more.

Red Roofs have upgraded a bit in recent years. Although the furnishings are flimsy, the rooms look pretty good, are well lit and comfortable. The towels are a little softer and thicker than they used to be. Shampoos still comes in a little packet. It's a little thing, but I really like the almond soap.

No breakfast and few other amenities is the biggest drawback. Motel was pretty busy when we were there--lots of people traveling through who arrive late and leave early.

If all you need is a clean and reasonably pleasant room to stay in with free wifi, there is no need to pay more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I've stayed here several times; it's the halfway point of a trip I make a few times per year. Anyway, this is a solid budget hotel that's located right off the interstate and close to several restaurants, like Wendy's (which is basically in the hotel's parking lot), IHOP, McDonald's, a Mexican restaurant on the other side of Wendy's, and a Cracker Barrel. There's also a good BP gas station close by that sells microwavable items and fruit; this gas station has a Subway inside, too.

As for the hotel itself, the interior is decent for the price--nothing fancy, but you can tell that they keep up with the place. Beds are comfortable. Internet is usually quick, though I once had a problem with its speed during a stay.

If you book online, you can usually get their best rooms--the ones that come with a microwave, fridge, and desk w/ workspace, for $58 bucks. Can't beat the price. Perfect overnight/just-passing-through type of hotel.

Sometimes the people at the desk are gruff, but I can't really think of anything else. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The hotel was clean and tidy, the service was good, and, for our stay, snow clearing was actively pursued making it easy to get out after the storm passed. The location is close to a number of well-known restaurants (Bob Evans, Texas grill, etc) and has an easy access from and to the highway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010 via mobile

Super close to interstate. 2 floor old school motel. Room was updated and bathroom clean but literally a hole was in the drywall and room was still showing its age.

Kinda sketchy area but I never felt unsafe. For around $60 a night, can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

To start I'm a supervisor at a 310 acre year round campground in Myrtle Beach SC that currently holds the National Campground of the year for the fourth time. Yea I know something about customer service. My wife and I are on todays trip for personal family matters, and we have tried to do as much as we can over the last two days. So it was very refreshing when we were between family members and had to find a hotel at the last minute that not only accepted our small dog but had such a great staff. I can only hope that if you come to the Charleston area and stay at Red Roof Inn that you are also greeted by the great service by manager Connie at the front desk, and the very clean room by her staff. Connie is the kind of people we look for in our campground.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in the landlocked midwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Motel 6 has remodeled their rooms at this location, and three adults plus two dogs were very comfortable here. We always bring a king sized sheet to cover each bed (we had two doubles) so the dogs can sleep with us, and we always leave a tip for the housekeeper in case some 'stray doghairs' are left on the carpet.

We arrived after dark and departed very early, so can't speak to any other issues/amenities. Friendly staff person checked us in.

In the past we have avoided Motel 6 due to their 'cell block' kind of decor, but have now changed our tune and will seek these out; we just need a clean place with firm beds to sleep for the night, nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.