We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfy & clean room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfy & clean room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were on the road making our call to get a room. Megan was very helpful and seemed to be a very friendly person. We couldn't wait to get off the road. On check in, Sherry was also very nice. We were happy to see our room was clean and the beds were really comfortable. We decided to eat at Wendy's because it was right next door and wanted to relax at the room. Morning breakfast was at Mc Donalds (also close by) We had a great start for are day thanks to Red Roof in Charleston.

Room Tip: The Hotel is right by busy roads. We bring a fan for white noise and leaving the fan on in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us. Sherry always tries to make our guests feel welcome. We hope to see you on your next trip through Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    72
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
55
51
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

OK first BEWARE when making reservations online with Red Roof Inn. Apparently that website defaults your date to the day you are making the reservation. I was told this by two different 1-800 red roof operators. its a known problem and they are working on it.

As for the hotel. The front desk staff was awesome. Lisa had no problems making sure we got a room and didnt have to pay twice as the operator at red roof wanted me to do. The Maintenance guy went to check to see which rooms where ready. Very professional staff all around. Room was clean and tidy. Even smelled clean!! We where next to the interstate, but noise was low. Nice TV, little fridge and microwave in room.

EXCELLENT place to stay when traveling.

Once again thanks Lisa and Connie!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with our hotel. We know that mistakes happen everyday and we strive to ensure that our guest has the most efficient and speedy check in upon arrival. We are glad to hear from our guests and look forward to seeing you the next time you will be in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I had a great experience! This is such a nice hotel! The staff is very friendly! Connie that works at the front desk was so friendly and helpful! I will stay here again! I have been at other Red Roof inns and this one is far by one of the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
First I would like to thank you for choosing our Red Roof Inn for your stay in the area. We take pride in welcoming our guests and making them feel at home. Connie makes it her mission to make our guests' stay the best ever. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Connie, our front desk rep., was phenomenal from the start. My boyfriend and I needed a place to crash for the night on our way back home to Michigan. We called from the road and Connie got us all set. She was extremely pleasant, verified our dog stayed free, and gave us directions off the exit. When we arrived she was just as pleasant in person. She even gave us a few bottles of water.

The room was VERY nice. They had all recently been redone. It didn't smell like smoke as most rooms do, even if they are non-smoking, and the laminate flooring was an EXCELLENT touch! I wish more hotels would do this. The room was very clean and the bed comfy. It was very welcoming. It was such a nice and pleasant surprise considering the prior property we had stayed in (a Super 8) in Augusta was not very nice at all.

We will definitely be putting Red Roof Inn's at the top of our lists from now on. We just hope they are all as nice and pleasant as this one was!

Thanks for the great stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We appreciate your positive review regarding your stay with us. Connie is an asset to our property and we love hearing how she makes our guests' stay enjoyable. At Red Roof Inn we try to make all of our guests feel welcome and at home. I'm so glad we were able to do that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Retreat, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I travel for my work and stay at many hotels. Not always the same chain, depends in location and availability. When I'm working in the Charleston West Virginia area I make sure that I stay at the red roof Inn in Kanawha city. The rooms are nice, clean and well maintained. The staff is always ready and willing to help with any needs or concerns that I have. Connie is ready to go that extra mile to make sure that her guests are always comfortable and have a nice day. I highly recommend the Red Roof Inn in Kanawha city when staying in the Charleston, WV area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you we appreciate you taking time our of your day to share your stay with us. Connie always takes care of all of her guest. She takes pride in making sure all of the guest feel at home. I appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn Kanawha City for your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you the next time your are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very nice and well worth the money. Connie was the sweetest person to deal with while checking in. A+ hotel and staff. My room was freshly remodeled clean and well furnished I will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Connie is an A+ in our book as well. We love to hear from our guest how she makes their stay so great. I look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel whether you are traveling with pets or not. The room was exceptional clean. No hint of odor or previous tenant. They staff (Vin) at check in was courteous and helpful. Check out was simple. The hotel is close to gas station & several fast food restaurants.

Room Tip: Room was quiet...could not hear anyone on either side even tho they were occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to share your stay with us. Thanks for the kind words about Vin. We look forward to seeing you on your return trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.