We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a pinch not bad, not scary, just a little tired already !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Lakefield, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“In a pinch not bad, not scary, just a little tired already !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Updated but must be really popular due to position outskirts of Charleston on your way to Charlotte. The staff was fine, the room was clean , The bathroom was ok but the tub needs some work, there was some rust and mold and the shower head was sloppy. This was handicap room 121 ."..We are not , yet anyways!! But we had our pup so all was good , he gave three paws up !!
Close to many restaurants , but disappointed with bob Evans !! Will need to find an alternate for our annual trips south and north from Canada. I am writing this review from a fantastic red roof inn in Statesville N.C. this place rocks!! Perfect !!

Room Tip: make sure you pay no more than $49.00 walkin coupon special. Pet Peeve when you sign in you are requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I apologize that you didn't get your $1.50 removed for the safe. You can call us within 60 days and we will gladly remove that from your bill. I hope you will give us a chance to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
45
39
34
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angier, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel and, once again, we highly recommend this Red Roof Inn. When I was looking at the cost of the rooms online, I decided to call the hotel to see if I could get a better rate. Sherry answered the phone and was incredibly helpful; she informed me of a 20% savings if we brought a few cans of food with us to contribute to the food drive. I would have contributed to the food drive anyway and being able to save 20% on our hotel bill made it a win / win.

I love the fact that Red Roof Inns are pet-friendly and that they do not charge extra for our Yorkie, Brutus.

The only thing that I don't like about Red Roof Inns is the $1.50 charge for the safe that is automatically charged to your room at check-in. Granted, you can ask for the charge to be removed at check-out if you haven't used the safe, but it is a hassle. I realize that this is a corporate policy and not the fault of any particular location. However, there has to be a better way to handle the charge for using the safe and I encourage "corporate" to change the policy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for choosing Red Roof Inn for your lodging needs. We are so glad you chose to stay with us during your travels. I'm glad Sherry was able to take care of you; we try to make everyone feel at home while staying. We are pleased that Brutus was able to come and visit as well. We look forward to meeting you the next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

No matter what part of West Virginia I am visiting, I stay here. I can depend on the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. Reservations, check-in and check-out are a breeze. There are many restaurants nearby and others in and around Charleston are easy to get to from here. The front desk clerks are welcoming and helpful. The bedding and towels were crisp and clean, the shower as hot as I wanted it with great water pressure. Good parking, the fridge and microwave are handy and the wi-fi works perfectly. I will stay here again and I would very much recommend this Red Roof Inn.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the back of the 2nd building, you may hear traffic if your room is quiet but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to complete a review. We appreciate all of the kind words. Thanks for being a loyal guest and we hope to see you the next time you travel to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Connie, who checked us in and told us goodbye when we left, was very friendly and welcoming. The upgraded room was clean and nice at a very reasonable price. There were local resaurants close by with a good variety of choices.
We were so impressed with Red Roof Inn and their policies that we have now joined their rewards program for our future travels with our dog.

Room Tip: The upgraded room was well worth the slight increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that Connie took such good care of you during your stay. We appreciate you joining our Redi Card program and hope you enjoy all the rewards that come with the program. I look forward to seeing you the next time you travel through the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

67 dollars for a room not stocked with toilet paper, no clean bedding, potato chips all over the bed, bugs.... Need I go on? Will not stay at this chain again. Dirty mirror and no military discount. Had to fill characters for the review. Would not recommend.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
First of all let me apologize for the poor experience you had during your stay at our Inn. This is not our standards. I will look into what happened and take measures to prevent it from happening again. I hope you will reconsider staying with us again and give us the chance to better serve you. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHBURY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

On the night drive up to Charleston I was worried about getting a room so called 1-800-the-roof and soon enough had two rooms, one for my passenger and business colleague, a Canadsia who had never heard of Red Roof Inns. The Kanawha City property was well managed and, very important, the water for making tean the following morning was very hot. Carol, who also checked us out (059), was very friendly and helpful, closing out a very satisfying stay.

Room Tip: Do what I do - call 1-800-the-roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review for our property. We appreciate you sharing our band with your Canadian friend. I hope they also enjoyed their stay. I will share your comments with Carol she goes out of her way to help our guest, and we appreciate the hospitality she shows with each guest. I hope the next time you come through Charleston you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My company stays with red roof quite often and they don't differ much. This one is no exception: the rooms were nice and clean but the maids didn't show up until 6 at night. There are restaurants and stores not far so it's not a bad location - it is a little annoying to get back to the hotel but for the price it's hard to complain.

One thing that stands out were the receptionists Connie and Sherry, they were very nice and helpful it's always nice to get actual characters behind the desks instead of robots. They got me situated pretty quick even though the computers were having issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
First I apologize for housekeeping not getting to your room until late. I will address this with my staff. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, and letting us know how well Sherry and Connie did their jobs. They are both great employees and both of them do a great job at making our guest feel at home. We hope to see you the next time you are working in our area. Have a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.