We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Charleston
fort wayne Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Room was clean near restaurants staff was friendly. There is no extras like shampoo hand lotion basic room. Priced a little high compare to other chains with more things to offer probably would look for different place if i'm in Charleston again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize that didn't meet your expectations. We do have Pantene shampoo that should have been in every room. All of our rooms offer microwave, refrigerators, free Wi-Fi, free long-distance (within the USA) and we have upgraded rooms that even offer snacks and breakfast in the refrigerators. We try to stay within reason of our competitors. I'm sorry you didn't find that when you were here. I hope if you are ever back in the area you will give us a chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    62
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
51
44
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summersville, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed @ this motel on 7/24/2013 and the staff was very proud to serve the public.I would stay there again in the future. The motel was clean and staff was willing help in any way.Team members name was Carol property name 059

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed over night on my way home from vacation in FL. I have stayed there many times before but they have renovated the rooms. They are done nicely and the beds are super comfortable. The place is convenient, clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. No issues with the stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I'm so glad you liked our new remodel. We appreciate you sharing your opinion with us. I hope to see you the next time you travel through Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Connie at the front desk during the afternoon and evening shift was terrific.
Her counterpart during earlier in the day, Sherrie, was also excellent.
Together, they added buckets of good to our stay.
Their help at every turn was the highlight of our experience,
and I a confident that any reasonable guest would agree.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for Recognizing Connie and Sherry for all of their efforts. They are both greatly appreciated and I’m glad they were able to help you during your stay with us. We appreciate you selecting Red Roof Inn and I look forward to seeing you again on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed in the area in the past and decided to look into this inn; I spoke with Connie and Lisa and their personality won me over from the start. I decided to stay at this inn after meeting these employees and my stay was just as they stated, it was excellent. I entered the room and it looked and smelled fresh and clean; the linens were fresh and the bath towels were bright white. I checked the room and the corners were clean and free of any dirt or dust that can normally be found in corners. The no smoking policy was also very nice as I didn't have any burn marks on the bedding, counter tops, or tub; also no after smell of tobacco. There were some outside their rooms smoking, friendly folks that also didn't seem to mind not smoking in their rooms. I was not able to get on the internet; I think my laptop didn't get a strong enough signal, but that was still fine. This was a great stay and I look forward to returning when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks so much for all of your kind words. We appreciate you choosing us and look forward to seeing you again on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

New smoke free policy is GREAT! Room actual smelled like it had been scrubbed and cleaned.

Only issue was that the quality of the wireless internet service was terrible. If I would have been staying at this hotel to conduct business I would have quickly checked out. Signal was constantly dropping and required reconnection.

Room Tip: Like all pet friendly hotels there are some owners whom are not friendly to those who follow. Owner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your recent visit to the Charleston area. We are currently working with our WI-FI provider to correct any issues you had during your stay. We did have to replace a couple of pieces of equipment; I feel this has resolved these issues. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn and hope to see you the next time your travel needs brings you through Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here on our way home from Maggi Valley NC, price was great, rooms new and resturant locations great. staff was very friendly, enjoyed the stay Pizza and sub place close to hotel lobby, Texas steak house, great prices and the Ihop has some of the best waiters, especially Steven T that I have ever had waited on me

Room Tip: always get superior king
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri-10059, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your recent visit to the Charleston area. We are located near several restaurants within walking distance. I'm glad you were able to appreciate them during your stay. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn and hope to see you soon on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.