We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a solid "3;" great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Charleston
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This hotel is a solid "3;" great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband, kids and I stayed in this hotel for a one night stay on our way out west. Since you never know what to expect with hotels, I was a little worried but did my research on TripAdvisor and I felt pretty comfortable booking it after I read the recent reviews. On arrival, the front desk clerk was extremely helpful and friendly, offered me extra towels, asked if I preferred upstairs or downstairs and made my check-in very smooth and efficient. The room was very clean (save a cobweb in the window), fresh sheets (I checked!) and looked recently remodeled. Laminent hardwoods in the bathroom were a nice touch! Check-out was also very smooth and the front desk clerk gave me several packs of coupons (which I have already used at home). I would recommend this hotel for travelers as a great place to spend the night. We were very pleased. Note: It is right off the interstate in the city so be aware the area looks somewhat run down.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back facing the interstate and therefore away from all the parking lot lights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
47
40
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night with our two cats. (Yes I know you are only allowed one pet, but come on, together they weigh the amount of a small dog!). The room was clean, a decent size, and smelled slightly musty, but okay for one night. The scariest part were the other hotel guests we saw smoking outside, but that is MacCorkle Ave for you- at least that part of it. I'd lock your car though and take out any belongings. It was much better than the Knights Inn on MacCorkle that we've stayed in. I wouldn't even shower there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We arrived here for a one night stay after calling around and pricing hotels. I was surprised at the prices of the hotels around here! The red roof inn offered an excellent price, only 66 dollars for a business king size room. Although the location is a little offset, its a not a ghetto or anything and we were graciously helped by connie (the manager I presume). she was extremely helpful not just with the room but with directions back to the highway! The hotel wasn't beautiful on the outside (I prefer indoor access to rooms) but the room turned out to be very nice and very clean! Kudos

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Red Roof Inn was basic but just fine, and a good $ value compared to other motels in the area. It was great that we could have our dog with us without paying a pet fee. The staff were very friendly. The furnishings and fixtures were a little low-budget but our room was clean and well-kept. The location is safe but unremarkable (completely surrounded by the interstate and a busy road) but just a few minutes' drive got us into Charleston for a nice dinner at Soho. We paid an extra $10 for the upgraded room with fridge and microwave, which were nice. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to be facing away from the interstate if you're bothered by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stay at this Red Roof Inn every year when we come to Charleson, WV. The price is reasonable compared to other hotels in Charleston and all the amenities are included in the room rate.

The hotel staff is very nice and the location is convenient to everything we want to do during our annual visit to WV.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Of my nine day trip- this motel was the worse value for my dollar. I will say the room was clean, nothing crawled, there was no mildew in the shower, the sheets and towels smelled good. But the mattress! It looked as though a 500lb person had been sleeping in it for a year. I was told they were in the process of replacing the old mattresses which is fine, but I don't expect to pay $80 to sleep in someone else's "nest". If I can't have the room with the new mattress- at least have the decency to cut me a deal on the room rate. And no breakfast- nada. The last Red Roof Inn I stayed at gave us vouchers for breakfast at Dunkin Donuts. The Knights INN in Eau Claire- A Knights INN! At least had cereal, toast and danish- for $39/night. The area seemed sketchy and I worried about my bike all night- but it was fine. But I will never stay here again and I cannot recommend it. I can do much better for $80 and so can you.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was traveling from Hickory, NC to Cleveland, Ohio. I got a late start so decided to stop and spend the night in Charleston. I have always had good experiences with Red Roof Inns, and this one had good reviews. Well the reviews were right. The staff was very friendly. The gentleman and lady were very nice and had a great sense of humor. The room was clean and spacious.
I definitely would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.