We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There needs to be noise control” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“There needs to be noise control”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff here needs more training. This is a rather large property but the staff person did not know where my room was. Even with her map she got it wrong. Luckily I found it without too much effort. The room was quite attractive and appeared to be recently remodeled. Then evening came. I was in the middle of a party that woke me at mid-night. Finally at 1 AM when it did not subside I called the front desk. At 1:30 I called the front desk again. Finally at 1:40 I heard the desk person ask them to be quiet. Amazingly they were up at 8 in the morning chatting up a storm again outside my room. The hotel did take a small amount off my bill but quicker action would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    72
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
55
51
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've stayed at this Red Roof before-this time I stayed for 5days. Its quiet, clean, safe and can easily access the Interstate(s). The location is kinda of odd. The staff is attentive and knowledgeable. Will stay here again if in the area

Room Tip: If your staying several nights get a business room-much more room to spread out and not really much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

There are no luxuries here, but the room was clean, I could park right outside the room, and it was clean... Nice even. I wanted a clean place that was easy to get to from the interstate, and this fit the bill, for a good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Clearly an older property that was re-done about 5-10 years ago. The rooms are OK, the bathrooms re-done etc. Ours was a non-smoking room but has that smell about it that once upon a time it was a smoking room... The bathroom had been cleaned, but was not really 'clean' there was dirt in the corners as if a worker had used the room last and cleaned their boots off in there!
When we arrived the AC had been left on full blast, despite it being March - and consequently the place was freezing... Fortunately the rooms have nice silent wall mounted radiant heaters, not just a "heat setting" on the window unit. One the place warmed up it was nice and quiet (we were on the side away from the highway).
And yes, Red Roof still has that annoying $1.50 charge for "insurance" on your room safe - its just sooo annoying - I'd rather they just charge $1.50 more for the room!
Oh - and NO breakfast, just a few pots of coffee I didn't bother trying.
There's a nice new Comfort Inn on the North side of Charlotte up I79 where we'll probably stay next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from I-77
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed one night, and were disappointed. The room was supposedly nonsmoking, but smelled smoky; the floor was not well vacuumed; the bathroom and sink were not as clean as a normal person would want. The TV was crummy and had about 5 ESPN channels and just a few others. The front desk staff were friendly and we didn't complain as it was a quick overnight on our way elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the highway as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa MN
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We travel with pets. This is a great place to stay with or without your dogs. We travel through Charleston several times each year. We try to time it so that we can stay here. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Great coffee in the lobby and very friendly and competent lobby staff. Recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justice, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were here because my dad was in critical condition in a local hospital. Connie at the front desk was wonderful to us. She really tried to help in any way she could and tried to make it as pleasant as possible under the circumstances. Thanks Connie!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.