We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Newark, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to Florida. We travel with our dog so often stay at Red Roof Inns because of their liberal pet policy. The room was fine, and even though we had our dog, the second floor room was more comfortable since it kept us away from the hustle and bustle of the parking area. The lot is shared by many other businesses, which makes it a busy spot. When we entered the "non" smoking room it was evident that the room had been smoked in. The residual smoke odor bothered me, so when the check out clerk asked how my stay was I mentioned it to her. Without asking she reduced our bill by $10. This small gesture was a huge customer satisfaction point and very much appreciated. They also had the best pillows there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    79
    43
    22
    13
See reviews for
61
56
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I've stayed at this Red Roof several times and have yet to have a complaint. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the price is right. There are many restaurants within walking distance and it is right off the freeway.

In addition, all Red Roofs are pet friendly, which makes traveling with my cat much less troublesome.

Room Tip: Their rewards program makes check in very smooth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This was a place chosen just to sleep for the night while passing through on a long road trip. I chose it due to the high recommendations on Trip Advisor, but now, I cannot understand how they have gotten the rating they have. The location is a stone's throw from the interstate, and the noise from the road is very loud, even in the rooms. The hotel is dark (we arrived at night) and dirty. It was packed and if we had not had reservations, there would not have been a room available. This also means there was NO PARKING anywhere near the room we had, and we had to walk a long way in the dark in a sketchy-seeming area to get to our room. The room was smelly and dingy, and the beds were VERY uncomfortable. Between the hard beds and the noise, the main point of our stay (sleep in the first leg of a road trip) was nullified. Also this whole area of Charleston has a bad smell, maybe because of nearby industry. This was evident the next morning when we dined at a nearby restaurant for breakfast (hotel does not provide even a basic breakfast). I know it is a budget hotel, but we stayed at several hotels on this trip that were priced less than this one, and they were MUCH better. This hotel is rated much higher here than it deserves to be.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiyuan, China
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This seems to be a fairly standard remodeled Red Roof motel. The location is not pretty, and there is some noise from the highway, but seems safe and there are some restaurant options nearby.

The rooms are clean and attractive. As with some others in the chain, the King rooms are tiny, so it can be better to choose a two-bed room or one of the larger king suites (actually the same size as the double rooms) with the fridge and microwave, but that typically costs more.

Red Roofs have upgraded a bit in recent years. Although the furnishings are flimsy, the rooms look pretty good, are well lit and comfortable. The towels are a little softer and thicker than they used to be. Shampoos still comes in a little packet. It's a little thing, but I really like the almond soap.

No breakfast and few other amenities is the biggest drawback. Motel was pretty busy when we were there--lots of people traveling through who arrive late and leave early.

If all you need is a clean and reasonably pleasant room to stay in with free wifi, there is no need to pay more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I've stayed here several times; it's the halfway point of a trip I make a few times per year. Anyway, this is a solid budget hotel that's located right off the interstate and close to several restaurants, like Wendy's (which is basically in the hotel's parking lot), IHOP, McDonald's, a Mexican restaurant on the other side of Wendy's, and a Cracker Barrel. There's also a good BP gas station close by that sells microwavable items and fruit; this gas station has a Subway inside, too.

As for the hotel itself, the interior is decent for the price--nothing fancy, but you can tell that they keep up with the place. Beds are comfortable. Internet is usually quick, though I once had a problem with its speed during a stay.

If you book online, you can usually get their best rooms--the ones that come with a microwave, fridge, and desk w/ workspace, for $58 bucks. Can't beat the price. Perfect overnight/just-passing-through type of hotel.

Sometimes the people at the desk are gruff, but I can't really think of anything else. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The hotel was clean and tidy, the service was good, and, for our stay, snow clearing was actively pursued making it easy to get out after the storm passed. The location is close to a number of well-known restaurants (Bob Evans, Texas grill, etc) and has an easy access from and to the highway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Super close to interstate. 2 floor old school motel. Room was updated and bathroom clean but literally a hole was in the drywall and room was still showing its age.

Kinda sketchy area but I never felt unsafe. For around $60 a night, can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City

Address: 6305 MacCorkle Avenue Southeast, Charleston, WV 25304
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City Hotel Charleston
Charleston Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.