We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Weekend Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott Town Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Marriott Town Center to your Saves list
Charleston Marriott Town Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Philippi,WV
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Weekend Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Just got back home after staying the weekend here. We were in Charleston for a concert and this hotel is in a great location from the Civic center. It is directly across from The Town Center Mall. The Pool was beautiful but we didn't get in. The staff was so friendly and welcoming. Nice size room. Good comfortable beds. Great powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Just a great trip all the way round. Def would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for all your positive comments. I will make sure the entire staff receives this feedback. They all work very hard to make sure every guests receives brilliant service. I thank you for choosing us as your place to stay and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    127
    69
    23
    5
See reviews for
60
66
22
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family stayed here while traveling over the Christmas holiday. The desk staff were courteous and helpful when greeting us. The room we booked wasn't available and they accommodated us by bringing a roll-away bed into the room for us. They were so quick about it, that it was in the room by the time we got there. There was an incredibly loud party outside our room, but we had no trouble going to sleep and never complained.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the restaurant in the morning and the staff there was second to none. They all anticipated our needs and took care of us. The chef at the waffle station made waffles for my children before they ordered them and delivered them to the table. Our waiter asked if we wanted our coffee to go before we even thought of it. The food was good, but we'll remember the staff and use them as a standard to measures others by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for such positve comments in regards to the staff and the care that they provided for you and your family. We take provide in doing our best to be brilliant hosts. I will pass your comments on to the staff who truly deserve to hear this from you as our guest. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott for a business meeting in town, and was travelling with a colleague. Since we arrived at around 10 pm, and the hotel was booked, both of us got the short end of the stick in different ways.. my colleague by being sent to another Marriott property nearby and me with getting stuck with a room next to the elevator and a generator/compressor of some kind right outside the window on top of the roof of the lobby of the conference center or lobby making noise.

The common areas of this hotel are nice - the lobby, the dining areas, and the connection to the parking garage next door so you don't have to brave the elements on a cold, rainy day.

Staff were friendly from the front desk and the wait staff in the restaurant for breakfast. The room itself was a good size. The bed was comfortable with a lot of pillows and good linens. But given what I noted up top about the location of the room, I didn't get a good, comfortable sleep during my stay. That probably would have not been the case if I wasn't the last guest to show up that night!

The parking rate was reasonable, but the breakfast cost in the restaurant or even for quick pick-up at the bar were a little on the pricey side.

Since I'm in Charleston a couple of times a year for work, I would consider staying at the Marriott again especially given the limited options in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the hotel. Your positive comments about the staff and hotel are very much appreciated. I apologize that we were unable to get you in a room that better suited your needs. Please feel free to contact me on your next stay so we can make things right for your. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The lobby and first floor recently completed a nice update; the rooms look to have been updated within the last few years as well. This is a pretty typical downtown Marriott flagship with a very friendly staff. I had to switch my first room because of a very loud holiday party outside my window at the hotel. This was handled very well by the front desk and they gave me some extra points for the inconvenience of having to change rooms. Both rooms were very clean and the common spaces of the hotel are well kept. The restaurant & bar were nice and have good professional staff.

Room Tip: Go high to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for all your great comments in regards to our staff and service. It is our pleasure to serve you and the entire staff takes pride in making you feel special. These comments will be passed on to all who deserve your complements. Thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Run of the mill business hotel. Two of three elevators were out which was annoying. It was clean though and comfortable. Nice bar/restaurant area and acceptable gym. The tidewater grille over in the mall is an easy walk and not a bad place to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedbach on your stay at the hotel. I apologize for the elevator issue as we are doing our annual safety tests and repairs in order to keep all guests safe when using the elevator. We appreciate you as a guest and your complete understanding. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, Usa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Marriott Town Center a few and I have never been disappointed. The central location and walkway to Mall next-door makes an activity for the down time in a conference. The staff rush to help with your luggage and the front counter all had smiles.
If you travel to Charleston, WV you won't be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get the higher rooms so you can see the view of the city
See more room tips
Green Features: The Marriott's have gone to a total non-smoking hotel
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely positive comments. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and the entire DECA group. Look forward to see you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I lived this Marriott property. Very reasonable rate with incredible customer service, nice rooms & perfectly located in Charleston. You won't want for anything at this Marriott property. The staff is unbelievably helpful & absolutely intuitive. I was so surprised by this hotel....everything from the hotel shuttle to the amenities was spot on perfect. I felt well taken care of, safe, comfortable & that I got a great value.

Room Tip: Up high so you can see the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your tremendous comments in regards to your stay at the hotel. It is truly a pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to your return. The entire staff will receive your comments which they word extremely hard to achieve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Address: 200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleston Marriott Town Center, a vibrant hotel located in downtown Charleston featuring 352 guest rooms. Following our multimillion dollar renovation, the guest rooms now include enhanced amenities, new furnishings, and upgraded wireless Internet. Travelers will enjoy the hotel’s well-equipped fitness center, as well as a generously sized indoor pool and sauna. As one of the premier hotels in Charleston, WV, we feature Brick Salt Bar + Kitchen, one of the capital city’s best culinary destinations. Our hotel also serves Starbucks beverages and treats. An on-site business center and complimentary WiFi access throughout the first floor streamline business, and with generous event space, our hotel is regarded as the perfect capital city venue for any event. Not far from Yeager Airport, our on-request guest shuttle puts travelers within walking distance to downtown Charleston destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Marriott Town Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.