We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo for enough sockets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott Town Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Marriott Town Center to your Saves list
Charleston Marriott Town Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Gift for You
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Northern Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bravo for enough sockets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for a convention of 400 or so. Our room was at the far end of the 8th floor. The room was so quiet that I never even heard a neighbor. The bed was great, and the easy chair was perfect. This is the first hotel I've experienced that has sufficient electrical sockets. This was not always the case. Back when I used a C-pap device, my husband and I had to scramble on our hands and knees to find somewhere to plug in an extension cord. At this hotel, there were the usual number of plugs in the desk area, as well as two (count 'em, 2) sockets at the base of each bedside lamp! What a luxury!
Thanks, Marriott for this wonderful addition to your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the FAR end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Sometimes the little things make a big difference and with all of todays electronic devices being able to utilize them all is very important. It is very important to us that we are able to make your stay as easy as possible and we truly appreciate you as a customer. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    127
    69
    23
    5
See reviews for
60
66
22
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my first time in WV. It was my first stop on a long road trip. I have never had a problem with Marriott and this was no exception. I don't know anything about Charleston so I cannot comment on location. But I was glad to see the Marriott Town Center right there. When you're traveling alone you can't go wrong with a mall! Front desk staff were very nice. My favorite part was the bedding. Lots of pillows and thick bedding, just the way I like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your very positive remarks in regards to your stay. It is our pleasure to serve you and our most important aspect of what we do is service. It is always great to hear that you were treated as the valuable guest that you are. I will certainly share your comments with the staff as they are the ones day in and day out that make your stay so pleasant. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our hotel for outstanding service and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was attending a large group conference during my first trip to West Virginia in July. Our venue was the Marriott, and I found it to be a great location. My room was very comfortable and quiet, and the bed was quite comfy with a nice assortment of pillows. The front desk and event staff were both very helpful and professional, and the transport drivers were outstanding - very prompt and courteous! I ordered one breakfast from room service and it was delivered sooner than promised and quite generous with the portions - good coffee too. It was very handy to be right across from a sizeable shopping mall with everything from Starbucks to White House Black Market and beyond. Even some stores we don't have in Oregon! I enjoyed my stay, and would be quite content to stay there again should I find myself in Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments in regards to your recent stay at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. It is always great to hear from guests that your product is very good and most importantly the service was outstanding. The team works hard to meet your needs and when that happens I definitely pass that on to the individuals who actually made your stay memorable. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I overnighted here on the way to another destiantion. His only request was that we did not want a room near the elevator. No problem- he was assurred.
So we arrive, it's very crowded due to an "event". We check in, and are asked if we need help with our luggage- "Yes- please- we'd like a bellman". We were told one was on the way. 20 minutes later- this very friendly- but very petite young woman arrives to help us with our luggage....without a luggage cart. Seems there were all "taken". After politely denying her help- we shelp our bags upstairs to our room- directly across from the elevator.
After a 10 hr drive- we hungry and too tired to fight it- so we proceed to order room service. A couple of filets, salads, etc. They arrive in a timely fashion -on a tray. The employee apologizes profusely saying, "I don't know what happened to all my rolling tables".
The food- was tasty- even if it was eaten in our laps.
After almost no sleep- you guessed it- wedding party was staying in hotel- VERY loud and using ELEVATORS all night- we were glad to leave.
SInce this is a Marriot designed to service a convention center- it does seem that they would be better equipped to accomdate a capacity crowd- and that the rooms would be more soundproofed.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room near an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
My sincere apology to both of you for the experiences that you encountered during your stay at the Charleston Marriott. We have no excuses for not providing you with a relaxing and comfortable stay. We as a team failed to accommodate you with all your requests and needs. Despite how busy we may be we are trained to provide to each individual guest a quality stay. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the near future. Please do not hesitate to call me personally if you are in the area and would like to try our facility again. Thank you for your candid feedback as it can only help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was my first time in West Virginia and I didn't know what to expect, but this is a nice hotel with an even nicer staff. Nice happy hour on the Concierge Level, the beds were really comfortable and the room was nice...but that's what you expect from a Marriott!
The staff members were very helpful, when my ride to the airport got snarled in traffic...they told the shuttle driver immediately and hustled me to the airport to make my flight!
Although, I do wish the hotel had better views of the mountains and that the windows were a little cleaner from the outside...this is a good stay. The lobby is very cute and upscale, I definitely recommend staying here when in Charleston.

Room Tip: Book the concierge level for the happy hour and pre-dinner snacks...very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your stay. Our number 1 focus is customer service and anytime we receive a comment in regards to friencliness and service it is truly appreciated and is passed on to those that are responsible for the outstanding service. I certainly apologize for the windows not being clean as we schedule that to be done twice a year and depending on the weather conditions they will remain clean for two to three months or longer. I appreciate the feedback and may have to adjust the cleaning schedule. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have stayed at a number of places along Route 77 corridor - this has been our favorite so far. This is an older building - lobby and hallways have been updated - but original 70's architecture feel is still there. Rooms, on the other hand, feel brand new - bedding, furniture and bathrooms are very nice. Restaurant on site - short walk to the mall for other options. Friendly staff. Small but pleasant concierge floor lounge. Expect to pay $13 per day for wifi and $13 per night for parking. I agree with other reviewers - wifi must be included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, General Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay. If is our goal to make sure we provide great service and based on your comments we did accomplish during your stay. The brand standard for all full service Marriott hotels is to charge for internet , although all the other Marriott brands do provide free internet.( Residence Inn, Fairfield Inn, Courtyard, Springhill Suites) I do understand and agree that as a company we need to re- evaluate our stance on free WiFi. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is probably the nicest place to stay in downtown Charleston, however as with other reviews you do pay extra for parking and internet. We recently made a reservation for a Saturday night and we had some special requests when placing our reservation. All requests were in place when we arrived. In addition, without going into a lot of detail, we had a problem Saturday evening but the management took care of the problem immediately. My wife loves the super quick room service and we love the great location in downtown, just across the street from the mall. We are ALWAYS impressed with the professional staff and the attention to details. We will not hesitate to stay at the Marriott Town Center in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve L, Manager at Charleston Marriott Town Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your stay at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate you and any special requests that you may have had. Referring to the staff as professional is the altimate complement as that is what they all strive for when providing service to a guest. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Address: 200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleston Marriott Town Center, a vibrant hotel located in downtown Charleston featuring 352 guest rooms. Following our multimillion dollar renovation, the guest rooms now include enhanced amenities, new furnishings, and upgraded wireless Internet. Travelers will enjoy the hotel’s well-equipped fitness center, as well as a generously sized indoor pool and sauna. As one of the premier hotels in Charleston, WV, we feature Brick Salt Bar + Kitchen, one of the capital city’s best culinary destinations. Our hotel also serves Starbucks beverages and treats. An on-site business center and complimentary WiFi access throughout the first floor streamline business, and with generous event space, our hotel is regarded as the perfect capital city venue for any event. Not far from Yeager Airport, our on-request guest shuttle puts travelers within walking distance to downtown Charleston destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Marriott Town Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.