We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Marriott Town Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Marriott Town Center to your Saves list
Charleston Marriott Town Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY FOR BREAKFAST
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was here on a Saturday night visiting family. Room was very clean, service excellent, good location. My family and I enjoyed breakfast in the on-site restaurant, which was very good. The only suggestion I might add is to provide some sort of continental breakfast. Otherwise, no complaints here!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    137
    74
    27
    6
See reviews for
66
71
23
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was clean, decent, but small. Staff was great and helpful. They're going thru re-building. Charge a LOT for internet in your room - esp as there was no business center. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was not warned that the lobby area was under major construction and cold (staff were wearing coats inside) but the rooms appeared to be recently updated and nice. It was a dependably fine Marriott stay, with a clean and bright room, although the room was rather stuffy and hot even though I turned the thermostat down to 60. Oh, and the bathroom is oddly small. The food was fine, the service was fine--all good but not spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October for a conference. The hotel is currently under construction and the lobby is practically non-existent. There was drywall hanging behind a small desk and no sitting areas for guests. The floor and all lobby areas were covered in a fine layer of Sheetrock dust. While I understand that it is difficult to completely control matters of this nature, it was a damper on being able to socialize with other people attending the conference, as there were no sitting areas.
All of the guest rooms had been completely remodeled and were very, VERY nice. This hotel has typical Marriott quality bedding and room furnishings. I did miss having a refrigerator in the room and the ice machine on my floor did not work the first night. I contacted housekeeping and the machine was fixed the next day.
Directly across the street is the entrance to Macy's and a very nicely outfitted mall. It was nice to have the convenience of being able to walk across the street and access dining and shopping options without having to drive. Also, the Civic Center is on the bisecting street next to the hotel.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Marriott Charleston Town Center and would stay here again, especially after construction is complete.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with beautiful views of the river and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRGB, WV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was really taken back by what is not included with the room. The charge is $12.95 for wifi and parking is $12.00. To make local calls is $1.00. I was really disappointed with the overall experience with the Mariott and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stay here often when I'm in town on business because it's close to the mall. I prefer the Embassy Suites down the road but for some reason it's always full. (Could be no one wants to stay at the Marriott!)

Lobby is being re-done so a bit noisy. Rooms are ok, bathrooms a bit tired. Also, they don't have FOX NEWS!!!!!!!! Really? It's 2012.

Just an average Marriott at best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and room was comfortable and very clean. The hotel is going through a remodel and the construction can be a bit overwhelming. When you drive up to the hotel you will see a sign that the hotel is not staffed with bell staff and you have to handle your own bags. The sign also asks you to limit your time to 10 minutes. We did have one of the front desk girls help us with bags though. Parking was self parking only, no valet, and it was $13 day. There also was a daily charge for internet. Hotels today, need to realize that most people appreciate comp wifi, but this hotel still doesn't get it. Not comping internet is like wearing a suit w/out a tie in this day and age. Excellent restaurnt for breakfast! Didn't try it for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston Marriott Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott Town Center

Address: 200 Lee Street East, Charleston, WV 25301
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unmatched travel experience at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Charleston, West Virginia, our hotel offers guests superior amenities, gracious service, and comfortable accommodations. Our guest rooms and suites are designed to facilitate relaxation and productivity, boasting features like high-speed Internet access, plush bedding, and expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Begin your morning in our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool, before exploring a variety of local attractions, including the adjacent Charlestown Town Center Mall. However you choose to spend your day, we invite you to dine with us at our popular on-site restaurant, Brick Salt Bar+Kitchen, which features modern American cuisine. If visiting Charleston for business, you'll be delighted by our comprehensive on-site corporate facilities, which encompass 17,500 square feet of modern meeting room space. We look forward to your visit here at the Charleston Marriott Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Charleston Marriott Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Charleston Town Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Marriott Town Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.