We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Gridlock!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Honolulu, HI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Breakfast Gridlock!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are Platinum Holiday Inn guests, and this was the first time we were significantly inconvenienced by a breakfast crowd. We understand that the location of the hotel, makes it attractive to large organized groups attending conventions, etc. However, both my husband and I had to stand in line 10 minutes to get our breakfast. I saved a table, while my husband stood in line and then when he came to the table, I stood in line for 10 minutes. Conventions and large organized groups cannot be avoided. Nevertheless, because these groups often have a schedule requiring them to be finish breakfast at a somewhat predictable time, it would have been helpful if the we were told when we checked in what time(s) the breakfast crowd could possibly be the worse. We came down to breakfast at 7:30 AM and didn't leave until 8:10 AM; we noticed that by 8 AM, most of the crowd had left for their scheduled activities. Our schedule is flexible enough to eat breakfast at our convenience. To add to the confusion, we noticed a group of 4 people who had brought their luggage into the dining room, making it even harder for people to navigate. Like us, they were probably not expecting the large crowd.

I felt that the arrangement of the food, all in a row, with a single line, slowed down the process. Having the garbage receptacle at the beginning of the line made it necessary for those finished with breakfast to cut in front of people in order to dispose of breakfast leftover. A more efficient arrangement is needed.

Having the coffee table separate from the food is great. However, would it be possible to move the sugar, cream away from where the coffee is dispensed so other people can get their coffee without having to wait for the person in front of them to put sugar into their coffee?

On the plus side, I the breakfast staff was efficient and the food was good kept replenished in a timely manner.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear pilikiax2,

Thanks for staying with us and for your recent review. We were pleased to hear the nice things you had to say about our breakfast staff efficiency, and the quality of our food. We'd like to also thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards member and your candid remarks on how we can better manage large groups. Guest feedback such as yours still remains our best source to improve upon the services we offer. We'll certainly take your recommendations into consideration.

Again, thank you and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express hotels for your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    69
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
35
29
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is amazing! I truly enjoyed my stay. The room was very clean, technology/furniture was modern; flat screens, cable, chairs, couches, etc. The staff was welcoming and honestly some of the nicest people I talked to in Charleston. I faced no problems, which is a great luxury to have. It was located in a great part of town, a lot of stuff nearby to do while staying in town even though every need could be met just at the hotel. If you travel a lot you see some weird hotels sometimes, so it’s good when I can find a great diamond in the rough. I was very impressed with the quality room and that I was able to get it for a fair price.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Brian B,

Thanks for such an amazing review! Each of your gracious comments are very much apprecited by our entire team. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Holiday Inn Express Charleston Civic Center is a modern, spacious, and well maintained property. The management and staff were very helpful. The brand has really come along way in recent years. One of the best features of this hotel is it's location. It's near major historic landmarks, retail, and restaurant venues. The stay here was quite memorable. Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TraveTrader1,

Just wanted to say thanks for the recent review and for sharing your great service experience at our hotel. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again!

All the best,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stay here overnight to star traveling cross country thru the route 39. Very nice standard room, very clean and the staff was very friendly, nice hot breakfast was included. Confortable king size bed,Television was ok and it was closed to every thing.

Room Tip: very convinient to thru travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear gvanderlinde,

Wanted to say thanks for the great review, especially the gracious remarks about our staff services. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had some issues with the room that I was in. Michael from the front desk was amazingly helpful! Very professional and most willing to help. I hope they value this employee. He made an unfortunate situation a great experience. Still don't understand why this Express doesn't give a fridge and microwave in every room. Really - why do I have to pay for that?

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear BP,

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to hear each of the nice things you had to say about the helpfulness of our associate Michael, he is truly an asset to our hotel. And thanks for letting us know how hard he worked in assisting you with your needs and correcting the issue you encountered.

We hope you will continue to choose us if your travels bring you back to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight while traveling cross-country. It's located right downtown and right off I64, so very convenient. Ironically, we had just stayed in another HIE the night before in Richmond, VA. This property was fairly modern in decor, but a little tired. Our room and bathroom were both spacious, with flat screen tv, desk & chair, and nice sitting chair. I was disappointed that our room didn't have an in-room fridge/microwave, although there was a coffee maker, iron, and hairdryer. However the bathroom hasn't been thoroughly cleaned. There was a good hot/cold bfast with many food and drink choices. We did receive a welcome bag w/bottled water and trail mix for being ICH members.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear wiffee,

Thank you for the review, and we were so pleased to read all of the nice things you had to say about our hotel and its services. I have shared your housekeeping concerns with the leadership of the department so that corrective action can be taken.

Thanks again, and we hope you will choose us again upon your next visit to Charleston.

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another tired ol'renovation hanger on in uncomfortable downtown area right off interstate. Nothing good to say about the view. Plenty of local restaurants within short drive/walk. The elevator is downright SCARY and slow. "Spin the wheel", when u bother to ask at checkout, for a chance to "win" a "thank you" that most other branches freely give to rewards members. Just ehhh

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Showtan,

Wanted to say thanks for your recent review. We are so sorry if you feel we fell short of meeting your expectations, and as you point out, we are a more mature property but we are constantly reinvesting in our facility in order to maintain the high standards of quality expected from the IHG family of brands. In fact, our elevators were just recently renovated which included the interiors as well as all of the mechanicals.

Thanks again for the review and we hope that you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express hotels for your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.