We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for quick stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Charleston
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fine for quick stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here overnight while traveling cross-country. It's located right downtown and right off I64, so very convenient. Ironically, we had just stayed in another HIE the night before in Richmond, VA. This property was fairly modern in decor, but a little tired. Our room and bathroom were both spacious, with flat screen tv, desk & chair, and nice sitting chair. I was disappointed that our room didn't have an in-room fridge/microwave, although there was a coffee maker, iron, and hairdryer. However the bathroom hasn't been thoroughly cleaned. There was a good hot/cold bfast with many food and drink choices. We did receive a welcome bag w/bottled water and trail mix for being ICH members.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear wiffee,

Thank you for the review, and we were so pleased to read all of the nice things you had to say about our hotel and its services. I have shared your housekeeping concerns with the leadership of the department so that corrective action can be taken.

Thanks again, and we hope you will choose us again upon your next visit to Charleston.

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    67
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
35
27
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another tired ol'renovation hanger on in uncomfortable downtown area right off interstate. Nothing good to say about the view. Plenty of local restaurants within short drive/walk. The elevator is downright SCARY and slow. "Spin the wheel", when u bother to ask at checkout, for a chance to "win" a "thank you" that most other branches freely give to rewards members. Just ehhh

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Showtan,

Wanted to say thanks for your recent review. We are so sorry if you feel we fell short of meeting your expectations, and as you point out, we are a more mature property but we are constantly reinvesting in our facility in order to maintain the high standards of quality expected from the IHG family of brands. In fact, our elevators were just recently renovated which included the interiors as well as all of the mechanicals.

Thanks again for the review and we hope that you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express hotels for your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised at the large size of the room It was very comfortable with a desk, lounge chair and comfortable bed The television was small in correlation to the large size of the room Staff was friendly and centrally located to great restaurants and shopping as well as events at the Civic Center

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lisa L,

Thanks so much for the nice review. We very much appreciate you sharing your service expereince, from the kind comments about our staff to your remarks about the size and quality of our rooms.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place and located near some great reataurants. I recommend Fifth Quarter Steak House. Great breakfast. My only complaint is the beds. I usually enjoy a great bed at Holiday Inn but these seemed a little bit hard. I did not get a good night's sleep.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear seashellcity,

Thank you for your rencent review, and we appreciate your kind remarks about our hotel and its convenient location. We were sorry to hear of your disappointment with the comfort of our mattresses. We are always looking for ways to improve the level of comfort we offer to our guests, and comments such as yours still remain our best source to guide us in our selection. We will certainly take your opinion into consideration as we choose our replacements.

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Within the last week or so, I stayed 2 separate nights at this hotel (Tuesday 3/31 and Sunday 4/5). I live about an hour and a half south of Charleston, and I needed to be in the city on 3/31 in time to make a 6:00AM departure on 4/1 from the CRW (Charleston Yeager) airport; I didn't feel like making the drive in the wee hours of the morning 4/1. The Holiday Inn Express Charleston -- Civic Center was very easy to find once off the freeway -- GPS was quite helpful in this regard. The room was clean and comfortable for a quick overnight stay. And the staff was outstanding. Though I was traveling out of the country (to Vancouver BC) for 4 nights, I was allowed to leave my vehicle on the property at no charge instead of at the airport which would have cost me a small fortune. I was very grateful to the staff for allowing me to do this and for shuttling me back and forth between the hotel and the airport. I did not arrive back into Charleston until shortly past midnight on Sunday evening 4/5; once again, the staff rose to the occasion. They had their shuttle driver drive back to the airport (he had already picked up the flight crew) to pick me up and get me to the hotel so that I could get some rest. The next morning, the trademark Holiday Inn Express breakfast was a welcome treat before my heading out on the drive south. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: I could not tell if there were good rooms or bad rooms in the property. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Anthony P,

We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind comments about our location, shuttle service, staff services, and breakfast are appreciated by not only myself but our entire team.

The next time you have a layover or the need to "park and fly", we hope you will choose us again.

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Layout is a little funny but all in all a good deal. The elevator is out of the way from the lobby. The free breakfast was impressive, what you expect and more. King bed was nice and the room was clean enough. All the usuals and a little more at a good value through Priceline.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peter P,

We appreciate the wonderful review and each of the great comments you made about our breakfast, staff services, and the cleanliness of our hotel.

Should your travels bring you back to Charleston, WV we hope that you will choose us again.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were very interested in helping us. They provided helpful information on places to eat. We decided to go to another place other than what they recommended and we let them know how good it was, and they asked for directions so they could help other guests.They were very accommodating with our schedule when it came time to check out. The rooms were very nice and we got a good nights sleep. We will stay again when driving through Charleston, WV. In my book this hotel gets all stars!!!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Tom C,

We'd just like to say thanks for such a great review! While it is our mission that each of our associates go "that extra mile", it's always uplifting to hear when we have done just that from our guests.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.