We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay July 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charleston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay July 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We pulled into Charleston on our Harleys from Ontario with no hotel booked, and we had stopped at a tourist info and got our hands on a travellers guide and had some hotel discount coupons in it. We arrived here and the staff were awesome in getting us the last room at the rate of $73.99 for the night. This is less then the corporate rate that I over heard the man next to me being checked in and paying $139.99.
It was a Tuesday so its customer appreciation day and they have free beer wine and cheese in the lobby area as well. So after my 3 glasses of wine and my husbands 3 beers and the cheese and snacks we had, really the $73.99 we paid for the hotel was ALOT less than that.
Location is convenient to the I-77 as well as the convention center.
We walked 4 blocks to a pub/sports bar that also had a happy hour and great food. Which was a recommendation from the front desk staff.....thank you for that :-)
The hotel was clean, and the breakfast was hot and good in the a.m as well with a great variety.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Clean, great staff, food and location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear mich,

A big thanks from all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center for the great review! All of the wonderful things you had to say about our staff, our welcome reception, location, and cleanliness means so much to us. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us.

Should your travels bring you back through Charleston we hope you will come see us again!

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    88
    51
    33
    12
See reviews for
66
36
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed on 5th floor, nice and quiet. The staff were outstanding, courteous and professional. The breakfast was very well laid out, they did not run out of anything the staff kept everything stocked very well. Only thing that made this review a 4 and not a 5 is the price, I thought it was a little high for them not having a pool like other hotels in the same price range.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear oldhack0322,

Wanted to say thanks for your recent review. We were delighted to read all of the nice things you had to say about our staff, our rooms, and our breakfast. It's always good to hear directly from our guests that we exceeded their expectations.

We hope that you will consider choosing us again should your travels bring you back to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is right off I-77 access, and downtown, so there are plenty of things to do. They have a deal with the steakhouse within eye view of the hotel property, all IHG guests that mention the hotel get a 10% discount. and the food is so worth it.

Being a frequent traveler, access from my main thoroughfare is quite important. Granted, there was some major construction occurring while I stayed here. While it is inevitable, it is unfortunate. Since you are navigating downtown, you really need to watch where you are going to negate any wrong turns/missed intersections so you can get to the hotel.

I still recommend the hotel for its property, the spacious room, and the great staff I encountered

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear neww0rldtraveler,

Thanks so much for your recent review. Your kind remarks about the quality of our rooms and the services provided by our staff members are also very much appreciated.

Sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with navigating our downtown streets and with the downtown construction, there are certainly many improvements happening in our city.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Charleston!

Sincerely,

Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is clean but it's in a weird location. The rooms seemed recently renovated and the staff was friendly but if you don't like to be around a lot of traffic don't stay here. However it is very close to the civic center which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear CHarper15,

We appreciate your taking the time to post your review concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We were also excited to hear all the great things you had to say about our staff services and recent renovations! Being a downtown hotel we do experience some light traffic noise, but as you point out, still a great location for business or attending events at the Civic Center which is directly adjacent.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Have been here before when it was run down. They have done some things to build the brand back up again.
I must say the night staff, when checking in wasn't very helpful. That's disappointing. Nonetheless, made it to my room.
Asked for a toothbrush, "were out!" Okay then, thanks for that.
Attitude here is not very nice. Unapologetic. Shower was clogged. How? Do they not clean the shower and run water? If so, wouldn't it NOT have drained when they cleaned it.
So frustrating.
Call to the front desk and there is no niceness.

Breakfast is a BIG plus. Excellent everything. Choices. Fruits. EVERYTHING. But, Oh my goodness, the temperature was so cold, I felt like I was the meat in a freezer. So so COLD!!!!
And when I asked the front desk about it, TWICE, the response was, " oh, I like the cold, idk what've would do if I were hot!"
Is that right now, it's about the hotel staff and NOT the customers.

This place is very average with a GREAT breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Matthew Blase,

I would like to personally thank you for your recent review. The nice things you had to say about our breakfast are very much appreciated. I am so sorry for the less than acceptable service you received from the night staff and for the slow draining tub in your room. Each of these issues have been addressed with the appropriate department manager for immediate correction.

Thanks again and we sincerely hope that you will not let this isolated incident prevent you from choosing our hotel for your future stays in Charleston.

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved everything about the hotel. The breakfast was the best in years and had BACON!!!!! Staff is very friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Very close to the local mall and restaurants. Nice walk there. Plenty to do nearby in town. See the capital building, about a 5-10 minute drive away. The price is definitely right.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear John V,

Thanks for choosing us and for the great review you just posted!

We are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. many enhancements to our breakfast offering recently which included many new food items. I have to agree with you, our bacon is of excellent quality and is quite tasty.

Looking forward to your next visit, hopefully it will be on "bacon day"!

Kindest regards,

Richard Eaton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in March during the State Basketball tournament. The staff was courteous at check-in. We arrived the night before the championship games. There was a lot of activity at this hotel.

I was pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. Nicely done with modern finishes. The bed was very comfortable. Even with all the activity, our room was quiet.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is excellent for activities at the Civic Center or shopping. We didn't stop at the breakfast so cannot comment on it. Overall, great stay and any staff we encountered were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear gkatsmom,

Thank you for the nice review of our hotel you recently posted. We were very pleased to hear all of the excellent remarks you made about our staff and services. The State Basketball tournaments are one of the busiest times of the year for our hotel so it is especially uplifting to hear that we accomplished our goal of providing great service during such a busy time.

Your opinion is very important to us and still remains our most valuable source of evaluating our service delivery.

We hope to see you again in March 2015 (or sooner)!

Sincerely,

Richard Eaton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.