We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrating Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Charleston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Vibrating Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This facility has been updated and looks good. Oddly enough, the room vibrates. I felt the sensation and filled a glass of water and set it on the desk. If I could attach the video, I would. In short, this location is close to the civic center and mall. It is in downtown and very quiet. All is good with this location, but the vibration is of concern.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review of our hotel and for the many nice things you had to say about our services. I'm not sure what to say about the vibration you experienced in your room. There are currently several construction projects going on in our downtown area that may have contributed to such an occurrence. Our engineering department has been notified though and will try and find the source.

We sincerely hope that you will not let this incident prevent you from choosing us again.

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    82
    48
    32
    12
See reviews for
65
33
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I am a coach for Randolph County Special Olympics .We stayed from June 6-8 and we were treated by every member if the staff with kindness and respect.We had a few special requests that they courteously and rapidly handled.The rooms were excellent and could not hear any disruptive noises from other rooms.The management and staff should be commended for our excellent experience .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Mozam25,

First I would like to say thank you for such a nice review. We were so proud to host your Randolph County Special Olympics athletes! It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we were so happy to hear all of the wonderful comments about our staff and services.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Europe
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a good quality standard traveler's hotel. As Holiday Inn Express should be... the best surprise is no surprise.

Convenient access to the interstate.

Important to my wife: it is clean.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear ExpatPro93,

Thank you so much for the great review! I'm certain that it will be very helpful to others who use this trusted site to make their lodging decisions.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visit Charleston on our way north to Niagara Falls. After reading the reviews of the hotel we were a little unsure what to expect. Wow, it had a great location and the rooms were very classy. The breakfast was also one of the best we had on our trip to USA. We were pleasant surprised with this hotel

Room Tip: We stay on the 6 floor and it was good to be away from the reception and breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear ossietripper,

Thank you for your review, and most importantly for choosing us for your stay in Charleston! Your nice remarks about our rooms and breakfast are also very much appreciated.

Should your travels bring you "back across the pond" we hope that you will again stop in Charleston WV and stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Clean, nice Hotel, stayed due to the proximity to the airport. Breakfast was fast and on time. Staff was veery friendly and extremely helpful. I did not use the pool or gym area. Business area was great and everything worked!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear David H,

Thanks so much for your recent review, especially the great comments about the friendliness of our staff, breakfast, and business center services. Feedback such as your still remains our best source to gage our service delivery.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After a long drive, it was great to have a reliable hotel that had WiFi for my husbands work meeting in the morning, a great breakfast bar including those fabulous cinnamon rolls, warm cookies and water bottles upon arrival, in a clean room with a soft bed. Thanks to Anthony who checked us in, Amanda and William at the front desk in the morning who were very helpful, and sweet Wandell who was keeping the breakfast bar filled making sure you had everything you need! Every hotel personnel who we walked by said hello and welcomed us. What a refreshing experience. We will be back to visit when we passed through this way again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Diana H,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! It is our mission to not just meet, but to exceed our guests expectations. And it looks like with the help of our associates Anthony, Amanda, William, and Wandell we did just that! We appreciate your thoughtful comments and very much look forward to seeing you again the next time you pass through Charleston.

Warmest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a large group. Check in was very easy and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. It had several restaurants only a block away so it was convenient. The only complaint I had was I didn't receive my requested wake up call.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear LAtraveler36542,

Just wanted to say thank you for such a wonderful review! Your gracious comments about our staff service, breakfast, and location are very much appreciated. I am so sorry that you did not receive your requested wake up call, we are currently looking into why this happened and will make every effort to assure this does not happen to a future guest.

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Richard Eaton-General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Civic Center is located in the beautiful riverfront capitol of Charleston, West Virginia. Our hotel was just beautifully and completely renovated. Our entire team will work diligently to exceed your expectations while providing an abundance of comfort, safety, and amenities which reflect our Southern hospitality! Finding your way through the majestic mountains of West Virginia and past the winding New, Kanawha, and Elk Rivers to the junctures of I-64, I-77 and I-79, the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center invites you to a contemporary ambiance and warm atmosphere with its ideal location for shopping, dining, and theater going even while doing business in our capitol city. The Holiday Inn Express houses 196 rooms. Nestle into the comfort of your own private room and get a peaceful night’s rest on our luxurious bedding. All rooms come complete with free high speed internet access, HD flat-screen TVs, a work desk area, and coffee maker. Select rooms come with a microwave and a mini fridge. In the mornings satisfy your hunger with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet included with your stay. If your taste buds are in the mood for something different then stroll to one of over 16 restaurants located within blocks of the hotel. Enjoy a leisurely walk on a path along the Kanawha River or engage in a friendly game of volleyball on the courts at Magic Island. "Meet and Greet" in our lovely appointed Sternwheeler Room for all your meeting needs for up to 100 people. While enjoying your stay in the beautiful town of Charleston, West Virginia, be sure to visit some of the local attractions such as Charleston Civic Center, Charleston Historic District, Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences, Coonskin Park, Craik-Patton House, and Haddad Riverfront Park. Choose the Holiday Inn Express Civic Center in the downtown capitol city of Charleston, West Virginia where you’ll find a truly warm Southern Hospitality experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.